ENP Study Group FAQ

Frequently Asked Questions about the Emergency Number Professional certification from the National Emergency Number Association Page. For a list of the planned sessions, please visit the ENP Study Session Schedule Page.

What will I learn?

The list of topics to be covered is outlined in NENA's Body of Knowledge.

What is ENP certificaton?

See NENA's page on the ENP certification for more information.

What Does it Cost?

NENA Member is $395; non-member is $475.

Why Take the Exam?

From Carl Simpson, Denver 9-1-1:

The ENP certification is a tool of a professional association to establish the benchmarks of performance that will signify a broad-based competence in the professional field. By successfully completing this certification program, you will:

  • Demonstrate a mastery of the comprehensive knowledge base required for emergency number program management.
  • Help to raise industry standards and increase the respect and prestige of those involved in 9-1-1.
  • Confirm your commitment to the 9-1-1 profession by showing yourself to be a leader in public safety and pledging yourself to stay aware of current issues and developments in the field.

What are the Qualification?

The following eligibility criteria have been established by the NENA Institute Board for determining if an individual is qualified to take the Emergency Number Professional (ENP) Certification Exam.

Experience Criteria

In order to sit for the ENP Certification Exam, a candidate must meet the following experience criteria:

A. Three years experience in Emergency Communications.


B. Three years experience with a commercial provider of Emergency Communications products and services.

Point Accumulation

Having satisfied the three-year minimum experience criterion, each candidate must accumulate a total of 10 points as follows:

Experience Points

Each additional year of experience (full-time equivalent) in Emergency Communications will count for 2 points, with a maximum of 10 points being granted.

Education Points

College degrees will earn points as noted below:

Associate Degree 2 points

Bachelor Degree 4 points

Graduate Degree 6 points

Professional Development and Service Points

NENA in-person courses completed (refer to the NENA web site for a list of current NENA courses) will earn 1 point each. A maximum of 4 points will be granted.

Holding an office in NENA at the chapter or national level will earn 1 point, with a maximum of 1 point being granted.

Other professional certifications (e.g. CEM) will earn 1 point, with a maximum of 1 point being granted. NAED counts.