Current Rules | Rules FAQ | Registration FAQ | League Tournaments
Frequently Asked Rules Questions - last updated 9/2/10:
Q: What are the major changes in the January 2010 Revision of the Official WAKA Rules?
Q: If the kicker slaps a pitched ball away with their hand, is that a Foul?
Q: What kinds of Foul Balls can be caught for an Out? May runners tag up on such Outs?
Q: Can a ball be fielded as fair when first touched by a fielder in the kicking box?
Q: If a runner physically hinders a fielder attempting to make a play, what is the appropriate call?
Q: Which Rules apply if a live ball is interfered with in foul territory?
Q: If the ball touches the base to which a runner is forced, is the runner out?
Q: Can a kicker who overruns first base be tagged out if they turn to the left?
Q: At what point may a runner “tag up” to advance on a caught ball?
Q: Can you define “Force play situation” (see Rule 10.09)?
Fielder Position Infractions (formerly Encroachment)
Q: How do the Fielder Positioning rules differ from the old “Encroachment” rules?
Q: Should these warnings or penalties be applied even when the ball is not kicked?
Q: Do all runners on base advance when a free base penalty is applied?
Q: May a kicker move backward during a pitch in order to draw a Position infraction call?
Q: May fielders line up to begin a play in foul territory?
General Rules & Referee issues
Q: When is it appropriate for a Head Referee to call a time out?
Q: How do I submit a suggestion for a new rule or a change to an existing rule?
Q: How do I obtain a clarification on the proper interpretation of a rule?
What’s new?
Q: What are the major changes in the January 2010 Revision of the Official WAKA Rules?
A: The most significant change to game play is that the infractions formerly known as Fielder Encroachment, Catcher Encroachment, and the Pitcher Position Infraction have been consolidated into a single “Fielder Position Infraction.” Instead of a separate team warning and penalty for each type of infraction, the three types are now grouped together. A team will receive one Position warning for its first Position infraction of any kind, and all subsequent Position infractions of any kind will result in a free base to the kicker.
The rest of this revision mainly features clarifications and simplifications of language, such as that governing “bouncy” pitches (12.02) and the Extra Base (1.06). For a full account of changes, see the 2010 WAKA Rule Changes Guide. [Back to top]
Field Setup
Q: Is it permissible to physically mark the horizontal boundaries of the strike zone during a regulation game?
A: Not with anything raised that could potentially interfere with play, such as cones. Cones should mark the BACK corners of the kicking box, but may not be placed near the plate or in the kicker’s way (1.02). [Back to top]
Pitching & Kicking
Q: Is a pitch that fails to bounce twice before reaching the plate considered a Ball regardless of what the kicker does?
A: No. Just as with a pitch outside the strike zone, it is only a Ball if the kicker does not attempt to kick the ball. [Back to top]
Q: If the kicker stands completely still and is struck in the leg by a pitch, or if they are trying to get out of the way, does that count as a kick?
A: Yes – it is the kicker’s responsibility to evade a pitched ball that they do not wish to kick. However, the Head Ref has some discretion here, and should call a pitch a Ball if the Ref judges it to be a deliberate and unsportsmanlike throw at the kicker. [Back to top]
Q: If the kicker slaps a pitched ball away with their hand, is that a Foul?
A: A deliberate Foul made with the hand or arm results in an OUT for the kicker. (14.02e, 15.02c). [Back to top]
Fielding
Q: What kinds of Foul Balls can be caught for an Out? May runners tag up on such Outs?
A: All of them, except for when the ball touches a foreign object such as a batting cage or fence (13.02d). Other fouls, including kicks on or above the knee (13.02e), balls touched more than once by the kicker in the kicking box (13.02f), and balls kicked outside the kicking box (13.02g) MAY be caught for Outs, and runners may attempt to tag up and advance on them, provided the caught ball is not in the possession of the pitcher on the mound. [Back to top]
Q: Overthrows – if a fielder tries to catch a kicked ball but fails, deflecting the ball into foul territory, is that an “overthrow” that restricts the runners?
A: No – Rule 10.07a defines an overthrow as “a ball thrown, kicked, or deflected into foul territory while making a defensive play toward a player or base;” – therefore a misplayed catch of a ball directly off the kicker’s foot does not qualify, since it is not a defensive play towards a player or base. Similarly, an attempted defensive play that sails into center field does not restrict the runners either, since the ball has not entered foul territory. [Back to top]
Q: Can a ball be fielded as fair when first touched by a fielder in the “shaded area” depicted in Diagram 2B?
A: Yes. “The area directly forward the kicking box is fair territory” – Rule 1.01g. [Back to top]
Q: Can a ball be fielded as fair when first touched by a fielder in the kicking box?
A: No. The kicking box itself is foul territory in all respects, except that a kicked ball may roll or bounce through it without instantly becoming foul. [Back to top]
Q: If a runner physically hinders a fielder attempting to make a play, what is the appropriate call?
A: If the Referee judges the interference to be deliberate and unsportsmanlike, this should be treated as Interference per Rule 15.02b: the play ends, the runner is out, and other runners must go back unless forced forward. [Back to top]
Q: Which Rules apply if a live ball is interfered with in foul territory?
A: Generally the remedies for fair territory interference (Rule 15.02a) will apply, however, if an overthrow is in effect (Rule 10.07) the interference rules are superseded by the overthrow rules. [Back to top]
Q: If the ball touches the base to which a runner is forced, is the runner out?
A: No - for a force-out to be recorded, the ball must be in the control of a fielder who is touching the base. [Back to top]
Base Running
Q: When the ball is returned to the pitcher on the mound, what determines whether a runner off base may attempt to advance or must return to their last occupied base? Is there a “halfway” rule?
A: There is not a “halfway” rule, nor any rule requiring that a runner be a certain distance from their next base in order to legally proceed. However, there is a requirement that in order to advance, the runner must be in “forward motion” at the time the pitcher receives the ball on the mound (15.01). Therefore, a runner who is running may keep running, but a runner who is stopped must go back. No longer may a runner pause a step off the base and attempt a late dash once the pitcher’s back is turned. Note that, as always, any subsequent attempted play that brings the ball off the mound or out of the pitcher’s possession WILL allow any runner to resume advancing at their own risk. [Back to top]
Q: Can a kicker who overruns first base be tagged out if they turn to the left?
A: An idle left turn that still brings them directly back to first base does NOT constitute an active attempt to advance per 10.06. However, even the slightest deliberate move towards second base would allow the runner to be tagged out. [Back to top]
Q: At what point may a runner “tag up” to advance on a caught ball?
A: The runner may tag up as of the moment the kicked ball is first touched by any fielder (10.05). [Back to top]
Q: When a runner misses a base, or leaves base on a caught ball before it is first touched, and the play ends without the runner returning to retouch the base, or without the fielding team putting the runner out, should the fielding team "appeal" the play by holding the ball at the missed or vacated base once the play is concluded?
A: No. After the play has concluded, any Ref that witnessed a runner miss a base or leave one prematurely may call the runner out at that time, without the formality of appeal (see Rules 10.05, 14.02f, l, and m). Any Out so called is applied as of the end of the play.
Note that any runner leaving a base before a pitched ball is kicked is immediately out (see Rules 10.03 and 14.02g). [Back to top]
Q: When a runner is called out after a play for missing a base (see Rule 14.02l) or failing to tag up (see Rule 14.02m), and that is the 3rd out of an inning, does the call nullify any runs that scored on the play?
A: These outs are applied as of the end of the play, therefore:
Q: If a kicker/runner safely overruns first base, and the ball is then overthrown, how far may that kicker/runner advance?
A: Overrunning first base is NOT equivalent to “running toward” second base (see Rule 10.07b), and therefore the kicker/runner would be limited to second base. The kicker/runner is permitted to attempt an advance to third base only if the kicker/runner had started an active attempt to reach second base (see Rule 10.06) before the ball was overthrown. [Back to top]
Q: If a runner is being held on base by a fielder other than the pitcher, and the fielder won't throw the ball back to pitcher for fear of the runner taking another base on the throw, how should this stalemate be resolved? May the Ref call Time to end the play? Is it considered "stealing" per Rule 10.03 to run on a throw back to pitcher following a stalemate?
A: When such a stalemate occurs between a fielder an runner, and no other runners are attempting to (or are able to) advance, then the play is essentially over. At this point, it is good form for a Referee to call a time out (see Rule 3.03a) and move the game along, but even if time is not called, a Referee may send a runner back who attempts to "steal" a base on the throw back to pitcher that ends the stalemate. [Back to top]
Q: Can you define “Force play situation” (see Rule 10.09)?
A: When a kicker puts a ball fairly in play and becomes a runner, this “forces” any runner on the base immediately ahead of the kicker to advance, as it does any runner on the base immediately ahead of a forced runner. Runners so forced are no longer safe on the base they originally occupied, until and unless a runner or kicker behind them is put out.
Note that a runner’s requirement to tag up before advancing on a caught ball (10.05) does not constitute a “force” in this sense. When the 3rd out of an inning is made on a runner failing to tag up, that does NOT nullify any runs scored on the play prior to the out being made, unless it was the scoring runner put out in this fashion. [Back to top]
Fielder Position Infractions (formerly Encroachment)
Q: How do the Fielder Positioning rules differ from the old “Encroachment” rules?
A: There are still the same three types of infractions, but they are now treated as a violation of the same rule. A single warning will be issued to the team committing any Position infraction, and all subsequent infractions by that team result in a free base to the kicker. [Back to top]
Q: Should these warnings or penalties be applied even when the ball is not kicked?
A: Yes. [Back to top]
Q: Can a Catcher or Fielder out of position while a pitch is in progress correct themselves before the pitch reaches the kicker, and therefore avoid the warning or penalty?
A: No. Improper position at any point during the pitch is considered a Position infraction. [Back to top]
Q: Can a Position infraction occur after the pitched ball passes the kicker, or after it is clear the kicker is not going to kick the pitch?
A: No. [Back to top]
Q: Does the result of the play stand when these infractions are warned or penalized? Can the kicking team decline a penalty?
A: On plays where a WARNING is issued, the result of the ensuing play STANDS, unless the Ref judges there to be unsportsmanlike conduct on the play. Note that a Warning may also be given when no ensuing play occurs. On plays where a FREE BASE PENALTY is applied, the free base is awarded in lieu of a play. Refs should immediately indicate an infraction has occurred and play should stop. Any play that does ensue should be NULLIFIED and a free base awarded instead. A team may NOT decline the penalty in favor of the result of a nullified play. [Back to top]
Q: Do all runners on base advance when a free base penalty is applied?
A: No, runners on base only advance if forced forward by the process of the kicker advancing to first base. [Back to top]
Q: May a kicker move backward during a pitch in order to draw a Position infraction call?
A: No, a Position warning or penalty (see Rule 8.02) should NOT be called if the infraction is caused by the kicker moving backwards. [Back to top]
Q: May fielders line up to begin a play in foul territory?
A: No. Rule 14.03 states "Prior to the kick, no participants (or spectators) may be in the sideline area except for the kicker, the catcher, Referees and designated base coaches." The sideline area is defined by Rule 1.03e: "the sidelines are lines 10 feet on the outside of and parallel to the foul lines, the area between the foul lines and the sidelines is the sideline area. Violations of this rule can be considered Position infractions (see Rule 8.02). [Back to top]
General Rules & Referee issues
Q: If the Head Ref isn’t sure of the correct final ruling for an unusual situation on the field, may the result of a game be determined retroactively once a correct ruling is found after the fact?
A: NO. The Head Ref must make a final ruling to the best of their ability and judgment (3.07), and the result on the field will be final. [Back to top]
Q: When is it appropriate for a Head Referee to call a time out? (See Rule 3.03)
A: Appropriate circumstances for a time out include, but are not limited to:
Q: What advice can you give to Referees on the correct application of Obstruction calls (Rule 10.02) and Baseline violations (Rule 10.01)?
A:
Q: How do I submit a suggestion for a new rule or a change to an existing rule?
A: To be considered by WAKA, all rules submissions are required to follow the specific format described below.
Visit the Contact Rules Questions page, and compose a message that includes all of the following information:
Submissions that do not follow this format or fail to include all the required information will NOT be considered by the WAKA Rules Committee. An updated edition of the official Rules is produced annually, so please be patient! [Back to top]
Q: How do I obtain a clarification on the proper interpretation of a rule?
A: In the event of any Rules controversy or confusion, WAKA players and Referees are encouraged to speak to their WAKA Customer Service Representative, and to write in to WAKA on behalf of the league, by visiting the Contact Rules Questions page. (Please remember that all rulings on the field will stand, even if they are later found to be in error.)
This Rules FAQ page will be updated to address common issues as WAKA becomes aware of them. Please check back to see the latest changes before writing in! [Back to top]