A list of frequently asked questions about how to play the game. Find more answers at the official forums!
I'd ask the player, "What do you do to determine that?" What do they want to know about it and how does their character go about recalling/obtaining that information?
For a simple Fighter test, roll extra dice for things like their armor and weapons.
Each character sneaks on their own against a single opponent - independently testing Scout or Nature (as appropriate) all within a single Turn. (Thread)
When sneaking past another group of opponents, make a single test with helpers vs. the opponent's Nature/Scout. The GM should increase/adjust the obstacle factors as appropriate. (Thread)
No. The rules say one or the other. A Condition means they have achieved the objective but at a cost. A twist can either be 'resolved unfavorably' (the bridge collapses) or 'unresolved' (the rope falls down into a nest of griffins; or, you find the road to town but it is occupied by brigands). See this article from Mordite Press for more advice on twisting.
Yes. Each skill has guidelines for appropriate conditions resulting from failure (pg. 78). Generally, a GM should try to abide by the guidelines and the order of the conditions. However, as these are suggestions, a GM may determine that, given the situation, a more serious condition is an appropriate cost for a risky action.
No, crossbows do not turn two Attacks into a versus test.
The level requirements for items have been officially removed. However, GMs can keep them for now, if it makes sense for their campaign. If so, a character must be of a certain Class level to use the item--the idea being that certain objects are too powerful for a starting character to wield.
Depends. Skills can be used to craft supplies if the situation allows. A GM may require certain long-term actions to be completed in Camp phase, however.
Check each and every time you are hit with a damaging weapon, like a mace versus chain mail. If the character is not hit nor about to take damage from a hit, then the armor is not checked. When the character taking the action is hit in a Conflict and would ordinarily take damage, check for armor damage.
No. Helpers cannot apply their armor to the action of another character. Only the character leading the action can use armor for that action. The helper's armor does not provide a benefit for the character leading the action.
No. If the character leading the action is knocked out and the excess damage rolls over on to your character with armor, your character cannot benefit from armor. Armor only helps the person that is the direct target of the attack. Armor only reduces an attacker’s successful or tied Attack or Feint action by -1s (see Armor, page 37). Armor/helmets do not benefit anyone that's subject to excess, or "splash," damage. Excess points of damage are removed directly from the player(s) (pg. 69). (Thread)
No. A single Cartography test creates the map and allows the fast-travel ability — provided that there are no new obstacles that would prevent such travel, such as destroyed bridges, avalanches covering the cave opening, or a monster giving chase to the party. Once the map is created, it can be used without a test. To use the map, the Cartographer reads off the locations to the GM from the map list.
No, just write down a list of location names for each area. The difficulty to map the list is based on the number of rooms being mapped.
No. If, as the result of a twist, the path along the route has become blocked, then fast travel beyond that point is not possible.
Yes. Make a list of overland areas as well.
Yes.
No, you only count the unique conditions - so having two hungry characters would only lose one disposition for the whole party. (pg. 79)
Depends. Based on the situation of the conflict, the GM may decide to apply the same Condition to the entire party, apply to those that lost disposition only, or to apply the Condition to the Conflict Captain and lesser conflicts to the rest of the party. The GM has the discretion to apply the Conditions as would fit and make sense for the situation.
Yes. The GM announces which weapon the monster is going to use in the conflict before the players chose their weapons. The players can use this information as they 'table talk' to craft a strategy for their actions. (pg. 183)
Yes. The players and the GM choose actions privately. The GM lays down all three action cards face down before the players discuss their strategy to select their own actions. (pg. 185)
Monsters don't have traits. (pg. 151) Monsters have an instinct that provides information for the GM on how to run the creature, but that does not provide free actions or a mechanical benefit to the monster. (pg. 150)
Roll the monster's Nature for actions. Monsters only roll in opposition to characters. (pg. 150)
Depends. There are no explicit rules in the book for spellcasting times, and the GM has the flexibility to use a magic system (Vancian, Rune Casting, Ritual Magic, etc) that makes sense in the fiction of the setting. There are two considerations, however: 1) How the conflict begins, and if the caster has time in the situation to cast more than one spell before being overrun; 2) The duration of the invocation. If a spell lasts for one test, then it would end when the next spell is cast (the next test). If a spell lasts for the turn, then other additional spells could be cast.
Yes. Players can spend persona to tap nature or fate to use a wise to re-roll scoundrels when generating hit points for disposition. Source.
Yes. So long as the wise or trait applies to the situation, it can be used accordingly.
No. If the monsters cannot run away, then the monsters cannot be driven off. It has to be possible for the monsters to leave the room or area somehow. Also, the players must describe actions that push the monsters out of the room instead of just stabbing them.
No, not having full light only ever increases the obstacle for a test by a factor of one.
No. Even if you have multiple torchbearers, their dim light does not combine to create full light - choose which characters are in dim light.
Depends. Ordinarily, in a physical or combat conflict, no. If a player is knocked out of the conflict, the torch is considered to be “dropped” on to the ground to provide illumination throughout the conflict. A dropped torch provides dim light for two. However, the GM decides if the torch is extinguished or dropped as appropriate for the situation. For example, in the context of a flee conflict and as the result of a spell or a change in circumstances, the GM can rule that the torch goes out.
Yes. As it makes sense for a situation and provided there is nothing inhibiting such a transfer, torches can be moved around freely.
No. You cannot move torches until the Twist is resolved. Light is determined at the time the Twist is triggered.
No. They are always in full light.
Depends. In most situations, no. The player just announces it, marks off the torch on the sheet, and the GM updates the light tokens. However, there must be time to allow for the uninterrupted action. If some twist or obstacle would hinder such a mundane action, then, at the GM's discretion, the light could be extinguished leaving the party in darkness.
Here is a forum thread on the subject. There is also an article called Nature Demystified from Mordite Press.
No. If you have a skill, you can no longer choose to use Nature instead of that skill. If you do not have the skill, you can roll a number of dice equal to your current Nature. (pg. 133)
No. Recovery is an independent test where each player is on their own. A player can spend rewards, tap nature, or use traits to benefit themselves. Wine can provide +1D to recovery from angry or afraid. A cloak can provide +1D to recovery from exhausted. Certain types of weather can provide additional dice.
Players can go for treatment to alleviate conditions outside the natural order of recovery. Should you fail a test to recover from Injured or Sick, your condition worsens and you must instead seek treatment from a healer (or prayers from a priest) to have any chance of overcoming it without penalty. If the treatment fails, the effects are the same as Sucking it Up or Sweating it Out. (pg. 77-78)
Other players can help treatment, and that also includes the player being treated. (Thread)
Yes. The order that conditions come "off" through recovery is different than the order that conditions go "on" from the Grind. You must recover conditions in this order: hungry and thirsty, angry, afraid, exhausted, injured, and sick.
Conditions are listed in two different ways: the natural order of recovery, and the Grind.
The firsts lists conditions that must be alleviated before the next condition in the list can be recovered. This helps players better understand what is urgent.
The second is listed on the GM screen, and represents the toll of the adventuring life and how the character gets worn down. This is the sequence of conditions that are taken by players when the Grind hits.
No. Once a mage or cleric invokes a spell or prayer, it is removed from the inventory. The spell or prayer will have to be re-memorized to be invoked again.
To cast the 1st level spells, test Arcanist Ob 1. Scribing tests are +1 ob.
Blessed Bargain uses Margin of Failure and Frugal Concern uses Margin of Success.
Yes. After a player rolls every fourth turn during the Adventure Phase, the obstacle is resolved, the Grind hits, players take a condition, and then the next turn begins. (pg. 183).
If on Turn 4, the party spends a check to make camp, they begin Camp Phase. Since there was no test on Turn 4, the party does not suffer from the Grind. This is a common strategy for characters to retain the Fresh condition.
Yes. After leaving camp, the group begins on Turn 1.
Hungry and thirsty, exhausted, angry, sick, injured, afraid, dead. For example, if your character is already hungry and thirsty when the Grind hits, take the exhausted condition because it is the next in the list. (pg. 78).
No. Lifestyle is an independent test that each character must make alone. Players may leave town whenever they wish, and the test for each character happens separately and without help (see Town Phase Procedures, page 184).
Yes. Characters can help another character make a purchase at the market using Resources. Helping characters are subject to Resource tax or to the twist as normal.
No. Town activities, such as using the Market or Guild, require a full Town Phase. 'Going to town' encompasses everything in a Town Phase - each player must find accomodations while the player spends the day shopping around town trying to find a merchant to purchase the item. However, some GMs will put small towns inside a dungeon or add a steading along the road to keep the pacing of the adventure. Still, the group must enter town, pay Lifestyle, and then leave town. See Town Phase Procedures, page 184.
No. You can only level up once per town phase, one level at a time. The "next level" means the next "one" level.
Depends. Yes, you can technically leave town and return immediately, though you'll be subject to town events and lifestyle all over again. However, the situation can by tricky. Once the Adventure Phase begins, the GM can choose to start the party at the door of the dungeon or choose to present a situation that would require a map or a Good Idea! to resolve. Some GMs start at new adventures outside of existing maps, or a GM might require the players go to a different town to level up again. The GM can also present hazards and obstacles before Entering Town as well.