AI4LAM is an international, participatory community focused on advancing the use of artificial intelligence in, for and by libraries, archives and museums. 

Community call: 20 February 2024

This month, Peter Leonard of Stanford University will be leading an expert focus conversation on speech-to-text. 

The “Transformers moment” in AI has enabled a number of rapid developments in domains relevant to cultural heritage. While conversation-focused Large Language Models (such as the commercial ChatGPT service) have dominated reporting and the public imagination, Transformers have also enabled breakthroughs in speed and accuracy for Speech-To-Text or Automatic Speech Recognition. 

Full details and joining details can be found in the agenda.

Fantastic Futures 2024 Canberra

Fantastic Futures 2024 planning is well underway with our hosts at the National Film and Sound Archive of Australia, and the save the date has been issued! Start thinking about travel now, and planning for a trip to Canberra! 

More details from: https://www.nfsa.gov.au/ff24, and use the form at the bottom of the page to join their FF24 mailing list.

AI Conferences Tracker

Contribute to the ai4lam relevant conferences sheet: go read our blogpost


Community members have begun filling out this tracking sheet with conferences coming up in 2024. The new year's list has just begun and we know there's more out there to learn about and share. So if there are any interesting and exciting conferences coming up at your institution or in your area, please add them to sheet! 


In 2023, we were able to identify and share 22 conferences with our community members. That's enough to have you at conferences approximately once a fortnight!

Community Participation

Check out our brand new guidance document, which highlights the many different way to get involved as part of the AI4LAM Community! You can find it in our Community Drive, or linked directly here

Conferences: Fantastic Futures


Every year the community ai4lam meets at a conference called "Fantastic Futures"

The first one was in 2018 organized by the National library of Norway in Oslo, the second was in 2019 organized by the Stanford University Libraries and the third one was in 2021 organized at the Bibliothèque nationale de France in Paris.

For more informations:

Conference in the National library of Norway

Conference in Stanford University libraries

Conference in the Bibliothèque nationale de France

Conference in Internet Archives Vancouver

A black and white icon of a megaphone, with sound waves emanating from it, representing amplification or an announcement.

Community Calls

ai4lam holds open community calls on the third Tuesday of each month at 8 AM PT | 11 AM ET | 4 PM UK | 5 PM CET.  Join the ai4lam Slack or the Google Group for connection information.

We have working groups! Have a look at the "Working Groups" section to get more information. It is up to you now!

Connect with the Community!