Sportives‎ > ‎

South Yell sportive 2008

The event started at 12.15p.m. with a somewhat diverse group of cyclists who all elected to ride the longer 23.9 mile southern loop, heading east through Burravoe before turning north to ride through the undulating terrain towards Aywick and then on to Mid Yell. A very welcome feeding station was situated at Mid Yell Boating Club, to provide the cyclists with much-needed refreshment before they rose to the challenge of the difficult home stretch, riding up some long climbs into an unrelenting headwind.

Although this was not a road race, some impressive times were posted, with Andrew Grant and John William Simpson coming in together on 1 hour 12 minutes, just in front of John Anderson on 1hour 15mins and Lewis Moncrieff on 1 hour 17 minutes. First lady home was Donna Mainland at 1 hour 34 minutes. 

But the real heroes of the day had to be the three youngest riders entered, 12 year old Luke Aquilina, and 13 year olds Calum Lindsay and Shayne Thomson, who rode the entire route, supported by Caroline Simpson and Bob Kerr. Luke make an individual bid for the finish line, finding his ‘second wind’ after spotting the ‘Homebakes 3 miles’, finally post heading the rest of the group home by just over a minute at 2 hours 44 minutes. 

This event would not have been possible without professional support from two groups, Shetland Radio Club, who provided island wide communication throughout the event, and Shetland Motorcycle Club, who provided the travelling marshals. Thanks also to all marshals and first aiders, Grays Wholesalers for providing free bottled water, Mid Yell Boating Club, West Sandwick Hall committee, North Ness Hall Committee, Shetland Wheelers, “Healthy Working Lives”, Active Schools and of course all the entrants of what was a very successful and enjoyable event.

Finishing Times

Alisdair Kirk 1:48:11
Andrew Grant 1:12:26
Andrew McAlpine 1:34:21
Bob Kerr 2:45:58
Brian Wesson 1:37:19
Calum Lindsay 2:45:58
Caroline Simpson 2:45:58
Donna Mainland 1:34:07
Fiona Stirlaing 2:38:08
Ian Jamieson 1:36:01
Ian Simpson 1:34:09
Jeffrey Wood 1:26:20
Joe Coughlin 1:30:19
John Anderson 1:15:00
John Pumford-Green 2:13:33
John Roberts 2:18:38
John Simpson 1:37:00
John Wm Simpson 1:12:26
Karl Simpson 1:17:50
Kate Pumford-Green 2:13:35
Lewis Moncrieff 1:17:21
Luke Aquilina 2:44:33
Mark Robinson 1:37:45
Michael McGuire 1:34:11
Robert Geddes 1:46:03
Scott Hartrick 1:27:33
Shayne Thomson 2:45:58
William Crook 1:37:17