Staff and committee

Happy Hours would be nothing without its dedicated staff and committee, they work hard to make a child's time at pre-school the best it can be with the 
staff at Happy Hours. If you are interested in joining the committee please email


Manager - Kate Cromar

Kate is responsible for the day to day running of the Happy Hours and setting the long term vision for the pre-school with the support of the Committee. Kate has worked at Happy Hours since 2006 and has gained a Diploma in Pre-School Practice on top of previous managerial experience. Kate is our Child Protection Liaison Officer and Lead Language Practitioner.

Deputy Manager - Hilary Chapman

Hilary helps with the day to day organisation of Happy Hours and deputises in the case of the absence of the manager. Hilary has a Diploma in Pre-School Practice and is our Assistant Child Protection Liaison Officer.

Senior Staff Members – Julie Purton and Sarah Watson

Julie and Sarah are qualified staff members who amongst many other tasks, lead sessions, help support with planning and maintain childrens’ learning journals. Sarah is also our Special Educational Needs Co-Ordinator.

Pre-School Assistants - Jean Pettitt, Gemma Alford, Paula Beard, Becky Leong-Kee and Ranita Reeves


Ruth Beale, Committee Chairperson

Our Chair is responsible for the entire operation of the pre-school, with help from the staff and committee.  Ruth is a mother of three.
Eleanor Atack, Secretary

Eleanor's job is to prepare agendas, take meeting minutes, issue letters and notices, alongside making executive decisions as an officer.
Sarah Brown, Treasurer

Sarah ensures bills and staff are paid, and our accounts and budgets are correctly prepared and maintained.  She is also involved in executive decisions.
Other committee members

Committee Position


Registration secretary

Clare Pluse

Social secretary

Vicky Fenny


Kate Whitmarsh


Fiona Dawes


Kevin Robson

Assistant Facilities

Karen Robson


Holly Kearn

Building Project Manager

Jason Holmes

Building Project Assistant

Paul Mason

Co-Opted / Asstnt fundraiser

Carly Jeanneret


Sarah Atherfold


Trish Shepherd