Study Area

The Project “Integrated Urban Flood Management in India: Technology driven Solutions” has its focus set on 2 cities, Bangalore and Hyderabad, having the following study areas:

  1. Bangalore Pilot Study Area
  2. Hyderabad Pilot Study Area
  3. Controlled Watershed in IISc Campus, Bangalore

The Bangalore Pilot Study Area and the Controlled Watershed in IISc Campus is led by Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore having the Collaborators from Karnataka State Natural Disaster Monitoring Centre (KSNDMC) and Bruhat Bangalore Mahanagara Palike (BBMP).

The Hyderabad Pilot Study Area is led by the teams from National Institute of Technology, Warangal (NITW) and Bits Pilani Hyderabad Campus having the Collaborators from Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation (GHMC).

Bangalore Pilot Study Area

Bangalore, capital city of Karnataka is the sixth largest metropolis in the country and a nerve center for the various cultural, social and religious activities, contributing to the growth of the city.

Read more….

Hyderabad Pilot Study Area

Hyderabad is a metropolitan city of India located at 17.3700° N, 78.4800°E. Hyderabad is divided into 16 storm water zones by Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation (GHMC).

Read more….

Controlled Watershed in IISc Campus, Bangalore

IISc being the lead institute for this project has a controlled watershed within which the hydraulic and hydrologic modelling is carried out for half of its total area (192 acres).

Read more….