Membership Information


The objectives of this Section are the advancement of the teaching of physics and the furtherance of appreciation of the role of physics in our culture.


  1. The membership shall be Illinois residents and consist of three classes: regular, student and retired members.

  2. The regular membership shall consist of (a) residents who are teachers and (b) other persons whose election will, in the judgment of the Council, promote the objectives of the section.

  3. The student membership shall consist of college or university students and high school students who have an expressed interest in physics.

  4. Retired members shall consist of former regular members who have retired from teaching. They are exempt from paying Section dues.


By action of the Council on Oct. 13, 2007, the annual Section dues are $20 for college faculty and $10 for K-12 teachers. They may be paid at one of the regular Section meetings or may be mailed to the Secretary-Treasurer of the Section using the ISAAPT Membership Form.

ISAAPT Membership Listserv

When you join the Illinois Section you become a subscriber to its unmoderated Membership Listserv. This listserv is a useful and efficient way to communicate with the membership. Currently there are about 260 subscribers.