Larry Enright - Novelist

Published by Amazon's Kindle Press!


The Jennifer Project

If we were not the most intelligent species

About the Book

Read the sample
Click here for sample

The Premise

In 2096, Deever MacClendon creates Jennifer, the first proto-conscious cybernetic processor. It is hyper-intelligent, aware, and evolving. Deever wants to use his creation for the good of all, to help fix a broken world, but knowing what a powerful weapon it could be in the wrong hands, he hides it. When his secret is uncovered, he is forced to plunge into a high-tech morass of deception and treachery to avoid catastrophe and save a world where humans are no longer the most intelligent species.

Where did the idea for this book come from?

I wanted to explore what it would be like if humans were not the most intelligent creatures on Earth. That more intelligent creature would tell the story from its point of view. That idea became Jennifer, a proto-conscious cybernetic processor, a force for good, yet powerful enough to destroy us.

What draws you to this genre?

Science fiction is about the future, and the future fascinates me. Individuals also fascinate me. These two interests fit perfectly in a genre in which I can tell stories about unusual people in futuristic settings and speculate on technologies that could determine our fate.

What inspired the cover?

Jennifer is an intelligent device created by Deever MacClendon from an exotic element, nanochips, and the imprinted brain image of his girlfriend, Jennifer Crane. The digitally rendered face on the cover is how he imagines his creation would look: beautiful and kind, yet powerful and dangerous.

Works of Fiction by Larry Enright

Four Years from Home (2010), a mystery of discovery and redemption, and a best seller on Amazon for 9 months.

A King in a Court of Fools (2011), a story of kids being kids in a time when things were simpler and every day was an adventure, was originally published as a serial novel.

Buffalo Nickel Christmas (2011), a young man's remembrance of a Christmas a long time ago, is a Christmas story for everyone.

12|21|12 (2012) The world ends for someone every day. One day it will end for everyone.

A Cape May Diamond (2012) A story of life, love, and a journey of a thousand years.

Walter Stickle and the Galactic Rangers  (2013) One ordinary man. One extraordinary adventure.

Walter Stickle and the Goldotti of Deamus  (2014) The adventure continues..

Walter Stickle and the Hole in the Universe  (2015) Someone's got to do it.....

The Adventures of Walter Stickle  (2015) The Complete 3-book adventures.....

The Blacker Death (2014) They said it would get worse... Then it did..

 - Now an audiobook!

Transcriber (2015) A story of timeless love and unnatural hate.

 - Now an audiobook!

The Jennifer Project (2016) If we were not the most intelligent species...