Ferny Grove station opened as Ferny Flats in 1918 when the line was extended from Enoggera to Samford and it was extended again to Dayboro in 1920. The name was later changed to avoid confusion with Ferny Flats in New South Wales. On 5 May 1947, an excursion train carrying customs employees and their families to a picnic in Closeburn past Samford derailed killing 16 people including the driver and fireman and it remains Queensland’s worst rail disaster. A small memorial marks the site of the accident. In 1955, the line was truncated to Ferny Grove. The line was electrified to on 17 November 1979. In 2012, the station was upgraded as part of the Keperra to Ferny Grove duplication which included relocating the platform, new station building and car park.
Ferny Grove was named after a geographical feature of the same name which no longer exists.
Ferny Grove station has two platforms consisting of an island platform. Platforms 1 and 2 are used for both inbound and outbound services as it is the terminus station.
Ferny Grove station has two station entrances. One is from the carpark on Conavilla Street and the other is from the carpark on Samford Road.
Ferny Grove station does have disability access.
There is a bus interchange outside the station serving nearby suburbs. The routes that serve Ferny Grove are routes 367, 397, 398 and 399.