Critical Theory

Critical theory was developed in the 1920s by thinkers associated with the Frankfurt School, including Max Horkheimer, Theodor Adorno, Herbert Marcuse, and Walter Benjamin. They combined Marxist social theory with other approaches, including psychoanalysis, to analyze and critique the power structures of modern societies.

Some key ideas of critical theory:

Later theorists like Habermas moved away from the pessimism of the early critical theorists and sought more emancipatory approaches. Feminist critical theorists examined patriarchal domination. Critical race theorists focused on racial power structures. Critical theory aims to uncover and critique the ways power and ideology limit human freedom in contemporary societies. It aspires to emancipate people from all forms of domination through social critique.

Here is a brief overview of some key thinkers and developments in critical theory:

Max Horkheimer (1895-1973):

Theodor Adorno (1903-1969):

Walter Benjamin (1892-1940):

Jurgen Habermas 

Axel Honneth