QRA Annual


Meeting  2024

Welcome to Manchester

Changing Resolutions in Quaternary Science

4–7 January 2024

The 2024 Quaternary Research Association (QRA) Annual Discussion Meeting is being hosted in Manchester by Manchester Metropolitan University and The University of Manchester.  The meeting falls in the QRA's 60th anniversary year, dating from the founding of its immediate predecessor, the Quaternary Studies Field Group, in 1964.

The theme of the ADM this year is 'Changing Resolutions in Quaternary Science'.

We aim to bring together researchers from all areas of Quaternary Science to celebrate the 60th anniversary of the QRA.  The meeting theme has been chosen to encourage contributions from all areas of Quaternary research.  We welcome contributions relating to multiple concepts of 'changing resolutions'; from advances in measurement precision, data resolution, and timescales through to a consideration of the changing practice of Quaternary research. For example, this could include changing resolution(s) in:

The conference will run in hybrid form, to allow those who cannot travel to attend the oral presentations. 

The preliminary schedule is as follows:

Thursday 4th January (afternoon): QRA AGM, followed by the Wiley keynote talk and ‘Icebreaker’ drinks reception at the Manchester Museum, University of Manchester.

Friday 5th January: Talks and posters in the Manchester Metropolitan University Business School, followed by Conference Dinner .

Saturday 6th January: Talks and posters in the Manchester Metropolitan University Business School.

In addition, we hope to run two optional activities: 

Thursday 4th January (morning): Workshop on ITRAX data manipulation and presentation.

Sunday 7th January: Field trip (optional) to sites around Manchester.

If you would like to be added to the circular email list, please use the form on the contacts page to indicate your interest.

Organising committee

Cathy Delaney, Will Fletcher, Chris Darvill, Anna Hughes, Iestyn Barr, Kathryn Adamson, Abi Stone, Rob Sparkes, Jonathan Lageard, Jamie Woodward, Phil Hughes