American Legion Boys State

Welcome to South Dakota Boys State,

a program of the American Legion of South Dakota. This is a very special year for South Dakota Boys State. The 2019 session will be the 77th to be held on the campus of Northern State University. The session runs from May 27th - May 31. We are expecting up to 350 delegates to attend the session.

The website is dedicated to broadening the understanding of the program, providing information about the program for high school juniors and their parents, and documenting their activities during the session.

Presentation on Orientation

Click this link to view video about Boys & Girls State

Boys State Online Registration

Info on South Dakota Boys State Media Team

Boys State Media Team Application


South Dakota Boys State is proud to announce a new scholarship program that will award a South Dakota Boys State participant a $1,000 scholarship to a four year post-secondary school of their choice The scholarship is for the 2018-2019 academic year and is not renewable.

The primary criteria for this scholarship is that the recipient be accepted to South Dakota Boys State and be an active participant in the week’s activities.

For more information and to apply online click here.

If you are a Junior Boy in Garretson, just sign up on the link above.

Contact if you have questions.

American Legion Boys State is among the most respected and selective educational programs of government instruction for high school students. At Boys State, participants learn the rights, privileges and responsibilities of franchised citizens. The training is objective and centers on the structure of city, county, and state governments. Operated by students elected to various offices, Boys State activities include legislative sessions, court proceedings, law-enforcement presentations, assemblies bands, choruses and recreational programs.

Boys State Representatives 2018

Left to right, Carter Stephenson, Dakota Johnson, Ben Konechne and Brennan Mudder

Boys State Representatives 2017

Left to right: Diontae Lymon, Ryan Fick, Marc Rattenborg, Isaiah Mader, Mark Vandersnick, Nicholas Lundberg, Zebadiah Johnson, Jack Konechne

Not pictured Hunter Carver and Collin Flahaven

Boys State Representatives 2016

Left to right: Noah Rieber, Jacob Fitzgerald, Riley Nordstrom, Shay Gibson, Alex Uhl, and Elijah Pierret

Not pictured Jacob Hansman