The Role of the Operations Committee

The Operations Committee promotes efficient and effective fire planning, resource sharing and fire suppression assistance among Compact members. Their duties and responsibilities include:

  • Develop and maintain the Compact Operations and Administration Manual (Annexes);

  • Develop annual resource exchange plans for the sharing of personnel, resources and technology between Compact members;

  • Develop a standardized communication and data base management plan;

  • Provide for the interchange of prescribed fire techniques, management and research among the members;

  • Collect and review the fire operations innovations of the members and other agencies and report on them at the annual meeting;

  • Provide comparative information on cost, performance and maintenance of forest fire equipment;

  • Exchange information for maintenance, packaging and movement of equipment used in emergency transfers between Compact members to allow the receiving member to maintain the standards of the supplying member;

  • Assist the training committee in developing and presenting training programs; and

  • Submit an annual report and work plan to the Board by January 20th of each year.

Operations Committee Membership :

Chad Gottbeheut


Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources

PO Box 298

N18225 USH 141

Pembine, WI 54156

Tel: (608) 381-4584

Matt Blaylock


Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources

52820 State Hwy

Barnes, WI 54873

Tel: (715) 815-7242

Fax: (715) 795-2617

Bryan Tarini


Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources and Forestry


70 Foster Drive, Suite 400

Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6A 6V5

Tel: (705) 945-6691

Fax: (705) 945-5785

Cell (705) 542-2006

Celeste Chingwa


Michigan Department of Natural Resources and Environment

110 Ford Rd.

Marquette, MI 49855

Tel: (906) 249-1497

Fax:(906) 249-3080

Adam Ladouceur


Manitoba Sustainable Development

HQ Operations Fire Program

Box 10 – 200 Saulteaux Cres.

Winnipeg, Manitoba R3J 3W3

Tel: (204) 945-7780

Fax: (204) 945-7782

Taylor Schenk - Committee Co-Chair


Minnesota Dept of Natural Resources

21371 MN-15

New Ulm, MN 56073

Tel: (507) 233-1214

Fax: (507) 359-6018

Blair Olson - Committee Co-Chair


Minnesota Department of Natural Resources

2115 Birchmont Beach Rd NE

Bemidji, MN 56601

Tel: (218) 308-2364

Fax: (218) 755-4024