Argentina Paraguay Chile 1994

The route for Camel Trophy 1994 was more than 2,500 kilometres long and, for the first time in Camel Trophy's fifteen-year history, crossed through three different countries. Starting in Argentina at the famous lguazu Falls in April 1994, Camel Trophy traversed Argentina, Paraguay and Argentina before crossing over the Andes into Chile.

The journey took the intrepid explorers down the principal river of Argentina, the Parana, through the steamy jungles and marshy savannahs of Paraguay, back into the Argentinean Chaco, and up into the Andes to a height of 5,000 metres. Crossing into Chile across salt plains and the driest desert on earth, the Atacama, the Camel Trophy convoy finished on a beach at Messionies, 120 km north of Antofagasta.

Throughout the three-week event, there were numerous challenges confronting the participants, but none more awesome than the Andean mountain range. With temperatures on event varying from -20 degrees C in the Andes, to +40 degrees C in the desert, and humidity from 100% in the tropical jungle to 0% in the Andes, the climate and terrain were only two of the obstacles the teams had to cope with.

A joint team from Scandinavia and a team from Hungary joined the event for the first time, with the United Kingdom returning after a year's absence. Spain's Carlos Martinez and Jorge Corella eventually won the event, taking the Special Task award as well. The amiable South African team of Etienne Van Eeden and Klaus Hass took the Team Spirit Award.


  • Team Vehicles: Land Rover Discovery 200Tdi

  • Support Vehicles: Land Rover Defender 110 200Tdi

  • Distance: 2,350 km by road plus 5 km by ferry

  • Number of Teams: 18

Participating Countries

  • Belgium - Bertrand Delaude & Dirk Verhoeven

  • Canary Islands - Enrique Guillermo Perez & Jose Luis Hidalgo Vega

  • France - Carine Duret & Jean Yves Paillier

  • Germany - Ingo Paulsen & Ede Weihretter

  • Greece - Spyridon Kyriakis & George Theodorakopoulos

  • Holland - Hans van den Eeden & Rob Koster

  • Hungary - Adam Vigassy & Balazs Forizs

  • Italy - Francesco Garbati Pegna & Andrea Tritarelli

  • Japan - Junichi Wakabayashi & Tadashi Ilo

  • Poland - Piotr Konopka & Slawomir Packo

  • Russia - Boris Kasankin & Alexander Davidov

  • Scandinavia - Christel Person & Olli Kangas

  • South Africa - Etienne Van Eeden & Klaus Haas (Team Spirit Award)

  • Spain - Carlos Martinez & Jorge Corella (Camel Trophy & Special Tasks Award)

  • Switzerland - Bruno Kneubuhler & Stefan Waeber

  • Turkey - Dogan Akora & Kemal Merkit

  • United Kingdom - Mark Cullum & Damien Taft

  • United States - Mack Barber & Dave Simpson