Rank Advancement

There are seven ranks Scouts can earn on their Trail to Eagle. The requirements for each of the ranks are given in the Scout Handbook.


The Scout rank is the first rank that a boy will earn. Most of the requirements will be completed at the Troop meeting. The pamphlet exercise on “How to Protect Your Children from Child Abuse: A Parent’s Guide” must be completed by a parent or guardian.


After earning the Scout award the next set of ranks are Tenderfoot, Second Class, and First Class. All of these ranks require that the Scout:

· Be active in the Troop and participate at activities other than the normal Troop meeting

· Master basic Scouting skills

· Demonstrate Scout spirit

· Participate in a Scoutmaster Conference

· Complete a Board of Review

All three of these ranks can be worked on at the same time. It is possible to complete all of the requirements for them at the same time.

While working on these ranks the Scouts can also work on merit badges.


These two ranks require that the Scout:

· Be active in the Troop for a period of time.

· Demonstrate Scout spirit.

· Earn merit badges (6 for Star and a total of 11 for Life)

· Serve in a leadership position.

· Participate in a Scoutmaster Conference

· Complete a Board of Review.


This is the highest rank in Scouting that a Scout can earn. To earn this rank the Scout must:

· Be active in the Troop for six months as a Life Scout.

· Complete a Service project.

· Demonstrate Scout spirit.

· Earn a total of 21 merit badges.

· Serve in a leadership position for six months..

· Participate in a Scoutmaster Conference

· Complete a Board of Review.

Merit Badges

A merit badges is an award that the Scout can earn by completing requirements in an area of study. There are over 100 merit badges. Merit badges are normally earned at Summer Camp or by working individually with an approved merit badge counselor outside of the Troop meetings.

To earn a merit badge the Scout must:

1. Select a merit badge.

2. Obtain the merit badge book and familiarize himself with the requirements.

3. Obtain a signed blue merit badge card from the Scoutmaster.

4. Find out the names of the approved Merit Badge Counselors from the Scoutmaster.

5. Call one of the Counselors and set up a meeting. In most cases, the Scout needs to have completed the requirements before visiting the counselor. In some cases the counselor may want to discuss how to proceed before the Scout starts on the requirements. This is especially true in the case of merit badges that require the Scout to keep records over several months. Upon completion of the requirements the counselor will sign the blue card.

6. Bring the completed card to the Scoutmaster so that he can record the completion of the merit badge with the Council.

You can obtain Merit Badge Worksheets here.

Board of Review:

After a Scout has completed the requirements for any rank or Eagle Palm, he appears before a board of review. Its purpose is to determine the quality of his experience and decide whether he has fulfilled the requirements for the rank. If so, the board not only approves his advancement or Palm but also encourages him to continue the quest for the next rank or Palm.

Scouts must appear in proper Class A uniform with their Scout Book.

Court of Honor:

A court of honor is a troop activity where scouts and their families come together to get their awards, and have a good time together. It is important for the scouts' family members to be there for their scouts receiving his rank advancement, merit badges, and other awards. We aim to schedule 3-4 per program year or as needed based on Scout advancement.