Published by White Wolf (2000/10)
Release date: May 17, 2004
Total cards: 150 (all new cards)
Boosters: 11 cards (7C, 3U, 1R)
Decks: none
Gehenna, the seventh Vampire: The Eternal Struggle set released by White Wolf, is a Time of JudgmentTM expansion. Legal for V:EKN Constructed deck tournaments on June 16, 2004.
New Card TypeÂ
The set features a new library card type: Event card. Rules for event cards are printed on each booster wrapper. Once each discard phase, a Methuselah may use a discard phase action to put an event card in play. Each event can only be played once in a game. It is neither a master card nor a minion card and is controlled by the Methuselah who played it.
The promo card for the set (card #151 - it is a promo-only card), Anthelios, The Red Star, can be found in the following magazines: Scrye #71; Undefeated #6; Lotus Noir #74, UK #3; Kartefakt #48; Uzra #TBA;
While the promo card would be legal for V:EKN play earlier, the rules for playing the card won't go into effect until the set as a whole is legal. So the card is effectively legal only when the set is (30 days after the official retail release date for V:EKN constructed tournaments).
Q: If this is an event card, then what is a Gehenna card?
A: "Gehenna" is just an attribute, like "gun" or "ghoul". Attributes like these allow cards to refer to groups of other cards easily and clearly, but they have no special meaning on their own.
Q: What's a discard phase action?
A: The thing you normally use to discard a card during your discard phase. Instead of using it to discard a card, you can use it to put an event card into play. See Section 8 of the rule book.
Q: Can an event card be canceled by Sudden Reversal or Direct Intervention?
A: No. An event card is neither a master card nor a minion card.
Q: Can I use a discard phase action to discard an event without putting it into play?
A: Yes. And doing so doesn't count as playing the event, of course.
Q: Can I have more than one event card in play at a time?
A: Yes. You may only play one each discard phase, though, and you cannot play the same one twice.
Vampires / Grouping
Giangaleazzo is Lasombra antitribu and he's Camarilla, and a prince. But he's still Lasombra (for purposes of cards that require a Lasombra to play), like Lucita... And group 4. As some of you have noted (Rafe), the group 2/3 set of vampires is almost filled out.
This set fills in the 2/3 set a bit more with some new group 3 vampires, but most of the vampires are group 4 (The advanced vampires are the same group as their base counterparts, of course).
Note that grouping rules don't affect crypt construction for limited (sealed/draft) events, so this won't be a factor for drafting Giangaleazzo in the prerelease events, although the constructed portion of your deck, if your organizer is using a format that includes a constructed deck, must still conform to the grouping rules. So if you bring a constructed crypt of 8 vampires, those vampires must be from 2 consecutive groups, but then you can add vampires that you draft from any groups. Check with your local organizer for details.