Awards‎ > ‎

Outstanding Service Award

We did not have any applicants for 2017.  Consider nominations for next year!
2018 - See nominating instructions below.

2017 - No applications

2016 Outstanding Service Award Recipient

On behalf of the Wisconsin Title I Association, please join us in congratulating Mrs. Cynthia Terrill on receiving the Outstanding Service Award for 2016. 

Cindy Terrill, current K-12 Reading Specialist and Title 1 teacher at Pecatonica Area Schools is completing her 39th year of teaching.  She has enjoyed a wide career  as an elementary teacher for 7 years at Mineral Point- her hometown, followed by 7 years as a principal at St. Joseph's Catholic School in Dodgeville, and then 7 years as the Reading Specialist for the Dodgeville School District.  In 1990, she received the WSRA Outstanding Administrator in Reading award.  She served as President and later on the board for the Hidden Valley Reading Council for numerous years.  During the past 18 years she has been Pecatonica's sole Title 1 teacher for their K-5 elementary.  In addition, Cindy has taught graduate classes in reading for UW-Platteville and UW-Oshkosh and numerous summer academies from around the state.  She has contemplated retirement since the birth of her 9 grandchildren but just can't let go yet as teaching still excites her today as much as it did in 1976 when she first started.  She is very proud that three of her children have also chosen to be teachers as well.  

Mrs. Terrill was nominated by the Superintendent of Pecatonica Area Schools, Dr. Jill Underly.   Dr. Underly spoke to Mrs. Terrill's active involvement and leadership in the district's Title I program and highlighted Cindy's leadership and significant impact on the growth of the district and her students.  "Mrs. Terrill is a continuous learner who sets a wonderful example of this for both her students and her colleagues.  She is never afraid to try something new."  

Congratulations Mrs. Cynthia Terrill!

Outstanding Service Award Guidelines

The purpose of the Outstanding Service Award is to recognize someone who has provided outstanding service to Title 1 or the Wisconsin Title 1 Association.

Nominators should gather information, complete the attached entry form, and submit it along with a typed description (two-page maximum) of the outstanding contributions your nominee has made to Title 1 or the Wisconsin Title 1 Association. Click here for the application. Submit entry by February 1, 2018 to:

            Paula Niedbalski

  • Recipient must be or have been actively involved with Title 1 locally or as a member of the Wisconsin Title 1 Association.  
  • Recipient must have demonstrated leadership and a willingness to be actively involved in Title 1 Programs.  
  • Recipient's achievements must have resulted in a significant impact on the growth of Title 1 organizations, the local Title 1 Program, or increasing awareness of legislation favoring Title 1.

The Awards Committee will review the nominations and select the recipient(s).  The nominator(s) of the recipient will be notified and may help present the award at the spring meeting of the Wisconsin Title 1 Association.  
    The Award recipient will receive:
  •     Check in the amount of $200 written to his/her school
  •     Hotel room the evening before the breakfast meeting (where award is presented)
  •     Breakfast 
2014 Award Winners
Congratulations to Jodi Haese of Reedsville and Ellen Jeanne Schnabl of Lac du Flambeau for being selected 2014 recipients of the Outstanding Service Award.  Thanks to these people for their dedication and service to Title 1 students!

Nov 10, 2013, 10:05 AM