Board and Committees

Updated Bylaws, Standing Rules, and Committee Descriptions (updated March 2016)


 Position   2016-2017 Name Email
 President     Nancy Harter, CEOE (LPSAOP)  
 nharter@lps.org
 President-Elect/Member Director TBA                   
 
 Vice President/Meeting Coordinator Lora Sypal (NDE Bridge) lora.sypal@nebraska.gov
 Secretary  Jane Schneider, CEOE (UNOPA)     jane.schneider@unl.edu
 Treasurer Diane Wasser, CEOE (UNOPA)    dwasser@unl.edu
 Past President/Field Service Edie Schleiger, CEOE (UNOPA)eschleiger1@unl.edu
 Fellowship Director Alycia Harden (UNOPA)
 alibolt@unl.edu
 Recognition Director TBA    
 
 Leadership Director Mary Guest, CEOE (UNOPA)   mary.guest@unl.edu
 Networking Director Julie Dansky (LPSAOP)   jdansky@lps.org 
 Mentoring Director Carol Bom, CEOE (NDE Bridge) carol.bom@nebraska.gov
  

NEOPA entering Phase 2 of Strategic Planning

Nebraska EOPA is starting Phase 2 of our strategic planning process and excited about creating a five-year plan to map our future direction. Like many organizations, NEOPA was experiencing a decrease in the number of members, as well as a decrease in members actively engaged in the association. Three years ago, we started the strategic planning by asking our members three questions: 1) How is NEOPA meeting your needs as a professional organization? 2) What benefits have you gained from your participation in NEOPA? and 3) What are you seeking that NEOPA is not currently providing, but could?

The responses from our members to the questions above directed everything we have done for the past three years. We developed a new purpose statement, logo, and slogan. Our purpose statement keeps our focus on providing professional development and support for our members.

We have also revised our Bylaws and streamlined our board structure. This coming year we will implement our new board structure and we are excited to see the results! Two main reasons for the new board structure are to decrease the size of the board and break down our essential functions into smaller chunks. Members will now have the opportunity to volunteer for shorter term projects rather than commit to an entire year.