Parent Ed

Upcoming Parent Ed Session

Grief Sensitive Schools Presentation - November 30, 3-4 pm

Parent Ed Archive

STOP BULLYING - October 2021

Stop Bullying Replay - October 2021

Bullying Parents Oct21.ppt

Summer's Here! Now What? Resources for Families

For the final Parent Ed session of the 2020-21 school year, we wanted to provide families and parents with resources for the summer, everything from mental health supports, to family financial resources, to food shelf resources to community ed opportunities and more! Here are time stamps for particular areas of interest!

2:45 Sheila Dokken, sheila.dokken@isd728.org - highlights ISD 728 Parent & Family Webpage (mental health, family resources, food shelf opportunities and social emotional learning supports)

7:15 Nicole Stottlemyre, nicole.stottlemyre@isd728.org - highlights ISD 728 Parent & Family webpage safety resources, including substance use prevention, vaping topics and more

13:12 Amy Peterson, apeterson@safefamilies.net - an outside organization providing resources and support for families in need - Slide Presentation

25:00 Marissa Wood, marissa.wood@co.sherburne.mn.us - PSOP program (Parent Support Outreach)

33:10 Trista Paulson, tpaulson@greaterminnesota.org - co-located providers; Spirited Adventures (nature therapy)

40:15 Cory Franson, cory.franson@isd728.org - information on Community Ed offerings summer 2021, including new preschool programming (mini "boot" camps), International Mud Day, EdVenture Club (pay only for days used), Family Fun Day Carnival and more - Slide Presentation


Top 10 Screen Time Tips - Presentation Slides

Interview with Pediatrician, Dr. Eric Barth, Allina Health

Dr. Barth & ISD728 Digtal Wellness Interview
Parent Ed: Top 10 Screen Time Tips.mp4

Growing Better Behavior- March 2021

Similar to plants, children need just the right conditions to grow better behavior. Instead of sunlight, water, and good soil; children need clear expectations, positives sprinkled throughout their day, and better tools to manage their behavior and emotions. In addition, it is crucial to identify the "why" behind the challenging behavior to pinpoint exactly where your child needs support.

Growing Better Behavior - Parent Ed Series

How To Help Your Child Cope with Stress & Anxiety - Jan. 2021

How to Help Your Child Cope with Stress and Anxiety

An informative session on strategies parents can use to counter stress and anxiety in their children, including a session on mindfulness strategies to develop resilience and self-management skills. Speakers include VMS Counselor Kaylee Mace, VMS Social Worker Krista Brannan and RMS Counselor Sarah Whiting.

December Coffee with the Counselor- Stress and Anxiety

Slide show with links - "How to Help Your Child Cope with Stress and Anxiety"


Q&A Document from the Session!

Kate Fitzsimons on Resilience

Check out her amazing website with fantastic resources!

Shared Resources:

Kate Fitzsimons_Teen Resilience Speaker_Flyer Promo.pdf

Parent Presentation REPLAY

Top_5_Podcasts_For_Parents_V2.pdf
RESILIENCE SLIDES_COPYRIGHT KATE FITZSIMONS COACHING.pdf

Vaping Roundtable

Vaping Roundtable Replay

MSS 2019_District728_Vape and Tobacco Data_2-2-2021.pptx

Vaping Presentation Power Point

Other Parent Ed/Support

TECHNOLOGY SUPPORT

Student Technology Tutorials: ISD 728

STUDENT SUPPORT RESOURCES