9th Microquasar Workshop:

Celebrating over 50 years of discovery

21-25 September 2020, Cagliari, Italy

"The 9th Microquasar Workshop: Celebrating over 50 years of discovery" will be held in Cagliari (Sardinia), Italy, on 21-25 September 2020. It is the ninth in a series of conferences mainly devoted to microquasars but also covering relativistic jet sources in a broader context. It will also be an occasion to celebrate the 50 years since the discovery of variable radio emission from X-ray binaries.

The workshop aims to present and discuss the latest results related to X-ray binaries, in particular accretion/ejection physics (multi-wavelength observations and theory/simulations), the properties, mechanisms and interplays of the accretion disk, disk winds, jets, accretion/ejection at all scales, and comparison with the various accretions (BH, NS, CV). The formation, evolution and merging of compact objects in binaries will also be addressed. In the context of recent missions devoted to transient sources, new facilities will be discussed (such as NICER, HXMT, MeerKAT, ASKAP, etc), in addition to new tools and diagnostics based on X-ray timing.

The scientific program will be organized in several sessions including invited reviews, contributed talks, posters and ample time for discussion, such as how to optimize multi-lambda campaigns and collaborations, diversity in science (status of young researchers, women, under-represented minorities and people from disadvantaged countries). A visit to the Sardinia Radio Telescope is planned on the afternoon of Wednesday 23 September. Along with the scientific program, cultural and social events will be organized.

Main topics

  • Multi-wavelength observations of Binaries (Galactic and Extragalactic)
  • Formation, evolution and merging of compact objects in Binaries
  • Timing analysis
  • Accretion-ejection connection at all scales
  • Theory/simulations

Important dates

  • 1 April 2020
  • 15 May 2020
    • Abstract submission closes
  • Mid-June 2020
    • Communication of the selected contributions
  • 30 June 2020
    • Deadline for the Early registration fee
  • 1 July 2020
    • Reservation at the Regina Margherita Hotel at a discounted rate closes
  • 31 August 2020
    • Deadline for the Late registration fee


  • P. G. Casella (INAF, Rome, Italy)
  • S. Corbel (AIM, Paris, France)
  • B. De Marco (Nicolaus Copernicus Astronomical Center, Varsaw, Poland)
  • E. Egron (Chair, INAF, Cagliari, Italy)
  • R. Fender (Oxford University, UK)
  • M. Giroletti (INAF, Bologna, Italy)
  • V. Grinberg (co-Chair, University of Tübingen, Germany)
  • S. Markoff (Amsterdam University, the Netherlands)
  • J. Miller Jones (Curtin University, Australia)
  • M. Nowak (Washington University, St. Louis, USA)
  • A. Pellizzoni (INAF, Cagliari, Italy)
  • P. O. Petrucci (co-Chair, IPAG, Grenoble, France)
  • J. Rodriguez (co-Chair, AIM, Paris, France)
  • D. Russell (New York University Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates)
  • G. Sivakoff (Alberta University, Edmonton, Canada)
  • J. Tomsick (University of California, Berkeley, USA)
  • Y. Ueda (Kyoto University, Japon)
  • A. Veledina (University of Turku, Finland)
  • J. Wilms (University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, Germany)
  • A. Zdziarski (Nicolaus Copernicus Astronomical Center, Varsaw, Poland)


  • M. Bachetti
  • M. Burgay
  • T. Coiana
  • E. Egron
  • N. Iacolina
  • A. Pellizzoni
  • P. O. Petrucci
  • D. Perrodin
  • M. Pilia
  • A. Ridolfi
  • J. Rodriguez
  • P. Soletta
  • F. Vincentelli