Director of the Coppers and Bronze Divisions

Ed Rollins is associate pastor for music and administration at First Baptist Church of Columbia, Missouri, where he has served for 22 years. He oversees seven choirs/ensembles and is executive director of the church’s Odyssey Chamber Music Series. Administratively,

Ed has oversight of the church operating budget, facility needs, personnel, and a seven-million-dollar endowment. Ed is co-founder, bass bell ringer and current conductor of the highly acclaimed Columbia Handbell Ensemble.

As a long time active member of Handbell Musicians of America, Ed has served the Guild on many levels, including Missouri State Chair, Area VIII Chair (1986-96), area representative to the national executive committee and area representative to the national board. He is currently the Chairman of the National Board. In addition, he has been a clinician/coordinator/conductor for Guild events in 20 states.

Director of the Tins and Massed Divisions

Dr. Deborah Carr, past director and co-founder of the Columbia Handbell Ensemble (CHE), received a B.S. degree in Vocal Music Education in 1977, a M.Ed. in School Psychology in 1992, and a Ph.D. in Educational Psychology

in 1996, all from the University of Missouri-Columbia. She began ringing in Monroe, Louisiana in 1982. Since 1984, she has resided in Columbia, Missouri where she initiated a five-octave bell program at Missouri United Methodist church and directed youth and bell choirs at Community United Methodist Church. During her tenure as director, the CHE performed for the AGEHR Area VIII Conference , the AGEHR National Director’s Conference, the AGEHR National Ringers Conference, and the International Handbell Explosion.

A highly respected conductor/clinician, Deborah has directed mass choirs for the National HMA Conferences and has served as a conductor/clinician for international, national, regional and state conferences in Canada, Iowa, Minnesota, Kentucky, North Carolina, Arkansas, New Hampshire, Oregon and Virginia and has served on the faculty at the Montreat Presbyterian Conference.