Pictured here are SCATE board members at the 2018 conference at Coastal Carolina University in October.

Left to right: Dr. Julie Jones, Dr. Reed Chewning, Dr. Stacy Burr, Dr. Danielle Robertson, Dr. Judy Beck, Dr. Suzanne Horn, Laura Kaufman, Dr. Susan Fernandez, Dr. Jamia Richmond, Dr. Lorraine Kibler.

Dr. Tod Kenney

Meet Our Newest Board Member

Nominations and Elections Committee Chairperson

Dr. Tod Kenney collaborates with colleagues to meet the needs of the students at Lander University in the role of an Assistant Professor of Education. He teaches a range of education courses and serves as the Coordinator of Elementary Education. Originally from the Midwest, he moved to New England to teach and then work as an administrator in the public schools in Connecticut. He holds liberal studies degrees at the B.A. and M.A level, with a doctorate in Educational Leadership. Dr. Kenney is keenly motivated to have students reflect on their assumptions about the science and art of teaching and learning as they begin to craft their instructional pedagogy.

Dr. Jamia


Meet President Elect - Elect

4 year Public Institution Representative

Jamia Thomas-Richmond obtained a Doctorate of Philosophy in Education with a specialization in Exceptional Student Education from the University of Central Florida in the spring of 2004. She has developed research interests around areas that can positively and significantly impact the quality of life of people of diverse cultural backgrounds. Consequently, her research has focused on working with culturally diverse exceptional students and their families. Others areas of interest include parental involvement in education, collaboration among teachers and families, and recruitment and retention of minority students in teacher education programs. Currently, she is an Associate Professor & Interim Department Chair in the Spadoni College of Education at Coastal Carolina University, teaching special education courses. Dr. Richmond coordinates the undergraduate and graduate special education programs. Additionally, she serves as the Project CREATE director for CCU and the International Programs Liaison for the College of Education.

Dr. Brennan Davis

Meet our Newest Board Member

4 year Private Institution Representative

Dr. Davis joined Columbia College as an Assistant Professor of Education in 2018. After graduating with a BA in English from the College of Charleston and an MAT in English from the University of South Carolina, she taught high school English in Columbia, SC for 13 years. While teaching, Dr. Davis pursued a PhD in Language and Literacy at USC-Columbia, which she completed in 2017. Since joining Columbia College, Dr. Davis has taught literacy, writing, and English education courses, and she continues to pursue research in two primary areas: effective professional development tools and processes for addressing issues of diversity in schools, particularly with veteran teachers, and innovative support systems for pre-service and beginning teachers.

Tamara Pack

Meet our SCATE Board Secretary

Lander University

Tamara Pack is an assistant professor and the early childhood coordinator at Lander University’s Department of Teacher Education. She teaches a diversity of education courses and is passionate about teacher candidate retention. Her research interests are founded in teacher candidate retention, factors of attrition, and standardized testing. Reflective of this interest, she is lucky to serve as the Teacher Cadet College partner for Greenwood County and surrounding areas. She is completing her doctor of education in May 2020 and holds degrees in early childhood, elementary, and curriculum and instruction. After living in various locations on the east coast, she is ecstatic to live in her birthplace of South Carolina with her wonderful husband and three boys.

Listed below are the officers and committee chairs for the SCATE organization. If you are interested in serving in the organization please contact the current president.

SCATE Officers and Committee Chairs 2019-2020


President – Laura Kaufmann, University of SC Upstate

President-elect – Dr. Reed Chewning, Converse College

Past President – Dr. Julie Jones, Converse College

President Elect-Elect – Dr. Jamia Richmond, Costal Carolina University

Treasurer – Dr. Judy Beck, USC Aiken

Secretary – Dr. Tamara Pack, Lander

Executive Director – Dr. Susan Fernandez, Lander University

Executive board member- Dr. Stacy Burr- USC Upstate

2-year Institution Representative – Tonya Misuraca, Trident Technical College

4-year Private Institution Representative – Dr. Brennan Davis, Columbia College

4-year Public Institution Representative – Dr. Jamia Richmond, Coastal Carolina University

Public School Representative – Dr. Lorraine Kibler, Mid-Carolina High School

Committee Chairs

Awards – Dr. Stacy Burr, USC Upstate

Legislative – Kathy Maness, Palmetto State Teacher’s Association

Membership – Dr. Michiko McClary, Claflin University

Nominations and Elections Committee – Dr. Tod Kenny

Program Committee – Dr. Suzanne Horn, Coastal Carolina

Publications Committee – editor of TEJSC, Dr. Julie Jones, Converse College

Publicity – Laura Kaufmann, USC Upstate

Webmaster- Dr. Reed Chewning, Converse College