Planning Committee

We would not be able to put on this event year after year if it wasn’t for the tremendous efforts of the Southern California Sexual Health Collaborative and the summit planning committee. Members of the committee are from agencies around Southern California, and they volunteer their time above and beyond their day jobs.

2019 Southern California Sexual Health Summit Planning Committee:

Sandra Abarca (Co-Chair), Planned Parenthood Pasadena and San Gabriel Valley

Aurora Chavez (Co-Chair), Essential Access Health

Christian Beauvoir, The LA Trust for Children's Health

Faviola Mercado, Planned Parenthood Orange County and San Bernardino County

Emily Wasson, Essential Access Health

Jose Velasquez, Los Angeles LGBT Center

Tara Beeston, County of San Diego, Health and Human Services Agency

Jessica Chapman, San Ysidro Health

Melissa Cunningham, San Diego Youth Services & National University

Veronica Barajas, Planned Parenthood of the Pacific Southwest

Lidia Carlton, CA Department of Public Health

If you're interested in joining the Planning Committee and helping to plan the 2020 Sexual Health Summit, please email