About Us

Rim Country 4 Wheelers (RC4W) is a 4 Wheel Drive Club with members originating from several States rather than only Arizona. Our trail runs primarily are within the Mogollon Rim and adjacent high desert areas.

RC4W promotes multiple use of our State and Federal Lands and is against Closure of Public Lands. Organized 4 wheeling works closely with the State and Federal agencies that oversee the use of the land. RC4W works with Arizona State Parks, Arizona State Land Dept., US Forest Service for several forests in the southwest, Bureau of Land Management, National Parks Service and Tread Lightly.

RC4W was active in the establishment of the Arizona section of the Great Western Trail (GWT), with approximately 800 miles of motorized trails from Utah to Mexico. The full GWT will cover the USA from Canada to Mexico through Idaho, Wyoming, Utah, and Arizona. There are possibilities that the GWT will proceed northward into Canada in the future.

The main thrust of the RC4W is pursuing 4 wheel drive recreation in the state of Arizona with monthly trips and (traditionally) a Wednesday morning trip for anyone who is available. RC4W will visit many areas of the State on roads with a degree of difficulty ranging from 1 to 5 on a scale where 5 is the most difficult and requires a high degree of driving skill as well as specialized equipment.

Members range from the novice class of driver to experienced and continue to increase their skills as they drive the back country roads and experience the beautiful scenic areas of this state. Arizona is one of the premier states in the USA for 4 wheeling, with high country all the way down to the beautiful desert country. With one meeting per month and several trips each month, we are able to get together frequently, exchange ideas and work towards our goals of having fun and keeping the roads in our state open for multiple use. Please join us in those goals!

The initial meeting of the Rim Country 4-Wheelers was held on July 12, 1997.

Articles of Incorporation filed on September 11, 1997

First Board:

President - Frank Noel

Vice-President - Leonard Mead

Secretary - Marilynn Berggren

Treasurer - David McElrea

1st Director - Charlie Conover

2nd Director - Pete Malevenda

First Year Members:

Allen, Marv & Linda

Avery, John

Berggren, Bill & Marilynn

Bertram, Larry

Bickle, Jim

Brogdon, Michael & Mindi

Conover, Charlie

Cranson, David & Jo

Diercks, Allen & Charolette

Eddy, Doug & Linda

Erlund, Bill & Nadine

Evans, Don

Firt, Will

Gilmore, Les

Green, Tim & Linda

Hicks, Don & Elaine

Janson, Kevin

Keller, Gary & Dean

Knauss, Paul & Norma

Kroll, Steve & Gail

Malavenda, Pete & Carol

McElrea, David

Mead, Len & Florence

Noel, Frank & Joanie

Parrott, Richard

Rasmussen, Paul

Ridling, Leolen & Mary

Roush, Alan

Swinghammer, Jim & Donna

Szabo, Michael & Brenda

Young, Larry & Karen

Active Lifetime Members

Inactive Lifetime Members