John E. Awards


The Spirit of CCT Awards (now known as the John E.s) premiered in 1999 as a way for Chino Community Theatre to honor excellence in production and performance. The awards are named in honor of John Lynd, an early and long-standing supporter of both CCT and CCCT. 

The award was originally conceived by CCT alum Tim Smith, and recipients were first selected by Chino Community Theatre's Season Ticket holders, recognizing the production, each season, that best demonstrated the "Spirit of CCT". 

Beginning in 2023, CCT is hoping that not only will the best production be recognized, but the finest in each show's cast, crew, and production team will be recognized as well. 


1999 • Man of La Mancha
2000 • Sylvia2001 • Love, Sex, and the IRS2002 • You Know I Can't Hear You When the Water's Running2003 • To Kill a Mockingbird2004 • PS Your Cat is Dead2005 • Nuncrackers2006 • The Foreigner2007 • Of Mice and Men2008 • A Streetcar Named Desire2009 • On Golden Pond
2010 • One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest2011 • Cat on a Hot Tin Roof2012 • The Rainmaker2013 • The Great American Trailer Park Musical2014 • Boeing Boeing2015 • 9 to 5 the Musical2016 • The Elephant Man2017 • Calendar Girls2018 • Young Frankenstein2019 • Mama Mia