History of the Theta-Eta Chapter

The Theta Eta chapter of the Kappa Sigma Fraternity was founded by an intramural football team called the “Hot Dogs.” On February 16, 1963, they became a colony of Kappa Sigma and called themselves Chi Sigma Epsilon. On June 1, 1963, Theta Eta was granted their charter, making Kappa Sigma the first national fraternity on campus. On June 1, 1966, the Kappa Sigma lodge was completed. The Lodge was the first, and now the last, Greek House on the UA Little Rock campus. Theta-Eta has initiated 676 men into the organization to date.

Our Twenty-Three Founding Fathers

John Bough Jr. William Haddox David Murphree

John Carland Donald Hurst M Brooks Nash

Billy Clark Kent Ingram Jr. Jack Oliver II

John Cook James Loxe James Parker

Ronald Crawford Gerald Jones Rodney Scruggs

Freddie Easton William Lange Donald Toller

Robert Elam Tom Lovette Joseph Wells

Walter Green III Samuel Paul Johnson

Kappa Sigma Fraternity House Building Committee:

Chairman: Charles H. Earl

Vice Chairman: James M. Williams Jr.

Secretary: E. C. Benton Jr.

Treasurer: Garnier K. Puryear