Award Winning Cinematographer with over 125 Feature Films in Malayalam, Tamil, Telugu, Hindi, Arabic and English. B.Sc. Graduate in Chemistry from Loyola College , Madras (Chennai) and obtained Diploma in Cinema ( Motion Picture Photography ) from the prestigious FILM INSTITUTE OF INDIA , PUNE. ( 1968 - 71)

Debut film "VIDYARTHIKALEY ITHILE ITHILE" - Malayalam Feature film Directed by John Abraham. Have been associated as the Cinematographer of many Nationally and Internationally renowned Film Directors such as John Abraham, Ramu Kariat,  Sethu Madhavan, P.N.Menon, Bharathan, K.G.George, M.T.Vasudevan Nair, Hariharan,  I.V.Sasi, T.V.Chandran,  Mohan, Mani Rathnam, Lohitha Das, Sasi Kumar, P.G.Viswambharan  etc

Lives in Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala State, INDIA

Hobbies include Reading, Painting in Water Colours and Writing Poetry in English. Some of the Poems were published in  various magazines.

Creator of
CINEKU, an unique genre of Short Film combining Cinema with Japanese Haiku Poetry format


Professional Memberships:

Founder PRESIDENT – Indian Society of Cinematographers ( 1995 to 2013)

Chairman -  Malayalam Cine Technicians Association (2012 -14)

General Secretary
Malayalam Cine Technicians Association (2006 - 08)

Life Member -  Cine Technicians Association of South India

Life Member -  Southern Indian Cinematographers Association

Member -     Cinematographers’ Combine

Executive Committee Member - Cinematographers Association of Malayalam Cinema (CUMAC)

President -    MACTA Cinematographers' Union

Vice President - MACTA Federation

President - MACTA Federation

Executive Committee Member - Kerala Chalachitra Academy

Positions Held:

Chairman – Technical Committee, India International Film Festival 1997

Member – Technical Committee, International Film Festival of Kerala, 1999

Jury – Kerala State Television Awards Committee 1998

Jury – Padmarajan Film Award Committee 1998

Jury – Asianet Film awards Committee 2002

Jury – John Abraham Film Award Committee 2003

Resource Person -  MACTA Chalachitra Kalari

Jury -  SICA Awards  for Malayalam Films 2002

General  Council Member – Kerala Chalachitra Academy 2003 & 2010 -14

Executive Committee Member – Kerala Chalachitra Academy 2015


Jury - Mathrubhoomi - Medimix Film Awards - 2003

Jury -  SICA Awards  for Malayalam Films 2006

Jury - J.C. Daniel Award for outstanding contribution to Malayalam cinema 2009

Jury - Padmarajan Awards

International Jury - Muscat International Film Festival 2014

Chairman - Technical Committee International Film Festival of Kerala- 2013

Subpages (1): RESUME