The Paulding County History Museum and Research Library
"The Little Red Schoolhouse"
Second Saturdays at the Museum
October 14th, 1 PM
Guests are Bobby Cole and Betty Hall
They will be talking about growing up in Paulding County from the 1930s and on
The Paulding County Historical Society was formed in June of 1977 and first met at the Paulding County Courthouse, in Dallas. It was the brainchild of Hon. William A. Foster, Jr., and others, who were concerned with the preservation of the history and heritage of Paulding County. Through the years the organization has been at the forefront of preservation efforts in our county and has tried to pass on to each generation a sense of the county's past with an appreciation of it's history. One such effort is preserving Dallas' first official schoolhouse.
The building that now houses the Paulding History Museum was originally the first schoolhouse in Dallas. The state charted it in 1860 as the Dallas Male and Female Academy. In the 1890’s the building became a residence and was later acquired by the First United Methodist Church of Dallas. Recognizing the historical significance of the building the Methodist Church donated it to the Paulding County Historical Society in 1995. On January 19, 1997, the school was moved to its current location at 295 North Johnston Street. There, it was restored to it’s near original condition and dedicated as the Paulding County History Museum on June 13, 1999.
To discover, collect, and preserve all things related to the history and heritage of Paulding County, Georgia. We want to protect and share them for present and future generations.