Recent site activity

Oliver Lemon‎ > ‎

Information for Mentees

** EXAM RESULTS ONLINE ** : get your exam results at: http://www.hw.ac.uk/registry/examinations/results.htm

** REASSESSMENT **: if you need to take a resit - look here: http://www.hw.ac.uk/registry/examinations/reassessmentprocedures.htm

(based on  HW Code of Practice for Mentoring Students, version 3, 2008)

Your "mentor" is member of academic staff who will provide the first point of contact if you require advice or assistance for both academic and non-academic matters.

Your obligations:

- to meet with your mentor once each semester, and to attend any additional meetings by mutual arrangement with your mentor.
- to notify your mentor immediately of any "special circumstances" which have arisen which may affect your studies (for example: serious illness, an accident, or a death in your family).

The range of issues which you will discuss with your mentor 

- Academic performance (profile of grades) and progression 
- Module choice 
- Modifications to course of study 
- Suspension of studies, withdrawal, course transfer 
- Central support services and key specialist staff  
- Personal and Career Development Planning
- Special Circumstances


Contacts in CShttp://www.macs.hw.ac.uk/macshome/csugstudents.htm (including Student Class Representatives, Year Supervisors)

Generally useful list of forms that students might need: http://www.hw.ac.uk/registry/forms.htm

Use this form to apply to resit a course: http://www.hw.ac.uk/registry/examinations/reassessmentprocedures.htm

Special Circumstances Form (can be found at: http://www.hw.ac.uk/registry/forms.htm under Examinations & Assessments).


Useful links to University support services


The Student Service Centre: http://www.hw.ac.uk/studentcentre/

Student Welfare Services:  http://www.hw.ac.uk/welfare/index.htm
Director: Ms Christine Johnston (c.johnston@hw.ac.uk, Ext. 4505) 

Academic Counsellors (co-located with the Careers Advisory Service)  
Academic Counsellor: Ms Isabelle Pottinger (I.Pottinger@hw.ac.uk; Ext 3062) (Edinburgh campus) 

Students Association Advice and Support Centre 
Edinburgh campus     tel: 0131 451 5333   
email: asc@hwusa.org

Personal Counselling/Welfare Advice 
Ms Morag Patten (M.I.Patten@hw.ac.uk; Ext. 3387) (Edinburgh campus) 

International Student Advisors 
International Student Advisor: Ms Laurianne Giteau (L.Giteau@hw.ac.uk; Ext 4015)


Disability Advice 
Ms Lorraine Vallance (disability@hw.ac.uk)


Careers Advisory Service 
Director: Mr Nick Thow (N.W.Thow@hw.ac.uk; Ext. 3392) 
Careers@hw.ac.uk; Ext 3391/3396 (Edinburgh campus) 

Wider Access Unit 
Widening Access Manager: Mr Ian Sutherland (I.Sutherland@hw.ac.uk; Ext. 8144) 
Colleges Liaison Officer: Mr Callum Maguire (C.J.Maguire@hw.ac.uk; Ext 3784) 

Funding Advice
Ms Lesley West (L.P.West@hw.ac.uk; Ext. 3613) (Edinburgh campus) 

Comments