UPDATE: Deadline for submissions extended to April 8th.

The 7th Workshop on Fault Tolerance for HPC at eXtreme Scale (FTXS) 2017

Workshop Keynote

John Daly - Laboratory for Physical Sciences
Faults and How to Live With Them

Workshop Agenda



Authors, Speaker, or Moderator

 8:25amWelcome Nathan DeBardeleben
 8:30amKeynote: Faults and How to Live With Them (slides)John Daly
 9:00amA Non-Invasive Approach for Realizing Resilience in MPI (slides)Umar Kalim (Virginia Tech); Mark Gardner (Virginia Tech); Wu Feng (Virginia Tech) 
 9:30amOptimal checkpointing period with replicated execution on heterogeneous platform (slides)Anne Benoit (ENS Lyon - LIP); Aurélien Cavelan (INRIA / ENSE Lyon); Valentin Le Fèvre (ENS Lyon); Yves Robert (ENS Lyon) 
 10:00amUnderstanding the Spatial Characteristics of DRAM Memory Errors in HPC Clusters (slides) Ayush Patwari (Purdue University); Ignacio Laguna (Lawrence Livermore National University); Martin Schulz (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory); Saurabh Bagchi (Purdue University)
10:30amBreak Break
11:00amTowards new metrics for high-performance computing resilience (slides)Saurabh Hukerikar (Oak Ridge National Laboratory); Rizwan Ashraf (Oak Ridge National Laboratory); Christian Engelmann (Oak Ridge National Laboratory)
11:30amIdentifying the Right Replication Level to Detect and Correct Silent Errors at Scale (slides)Anne Benoit (ENS Lyon - LIP); Aurélien Cavelan (INRIA / ENSE Lyon); Franck Cappello (Argonne National Laboratory and University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign); Padma Raghavan (Vanderbilt University); Yves Robert (ENS Lyon); Hongyang Sun (Vanderbilt University)

Submission Essential Information

Submissions are expected in the following categories:
  • Regular papers presenting innovative ideas improving the state of the art in resilience, reliability, dependability, and/or fault-tolerance at the extreme scale.
  • Experience papers discussing the issues seen on existing extreme-scale systems, including analysis, evaluation, and interpretation.
Authors are invited to submit papers with unpublished, original work of a maximum of eight (8) pages for normal papers and six (6) pages for experience papers. Please follow the US Letter guidelines for ACM Proceedings Style. 

Papers will be peer-reviewed, and accepted papers will be published in the workshop proceedings as part of the ACM digital library. Submission implies the willingness of at least one of the authors to register and present the paper.

Important Dates

Submission of papers: March 16th, 2017 Extended: April 8th, 2017.
Author notification: April 20th, 2017
Camera ready papers: May 5th, 2017 (HARD DEADLINE BY HPDC!)
Workshop: June 26, 2017

Workshop Topics

Topics include, but are not limited to:
  • Failure data analysis and field studies
  • Power, performance, resilience (PPR) assessments / tradeoffs
  • Novel fault-tolerance techniques and implementations
  • Emerging hardware and software technology for resilience
  • Silent data corruption (SDC) detection / correction techniques
  • Advances in reliability monitoring, analysis, and control of highly complex systems
  • Failure prediction, error preemption, and recovery techniques
  • Fault-tolerant programming models
  • Models for software and hardware reliability
  • Metrics and standards for measuring, improving, and enforcing effective fault-tolerance
  • Scalable Byzantine fault-tolerance and security from single-fault and fail-silent violations
  • Atmospheric evaluations relevant to HPC systems (terrestrial neutrons, temperature, voltage, etc.)
  • Near-threshold-voltage implications and evaluations for reliability
  • Benchmarks and experimental environments including fault injection
  • Frameworks and APIs for fault-tolerance and fault management

Workshop Chair

Nathan DeBardeleben - Los Alamos National Laboratory

Workshop Organizing Committee

Keita Teranishi – Sandia National Laboratories
John Daly – Laboratory for Physical Sciences

Program Committee

Emmanuel Agullo – INRIA Bordeaux
Rizwan Ashraf  Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Leonardo Bautista Gomez – Barcelona Supercomputing Center
Aurélien Bouteiller – University of Tennessee Knoxville
Robert Clay – Sandia National Laboratories
James Elliott – Sandia National Laboratories
Christian Engelmann –Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Kurt Ferreira – Sandia National Laboratories
Marc Gamell – Rutgers University
Qiang Guan – Los Alamos National Laboratory
Sudhanva Gurumurthi –AMD
Saurabh Hukerikar – Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Hideyuki Jitsumoto – Tokyo Institute of Technology
Zhiling Lan – Illinois Institute of Technology
Scott Levy – Sandia National Laboratories
Naoya Maruyama – RIKEN AICS
Bogdan Nicolae – Huawei Research Germany
Yves Robert – ENS Lyon & Univ. Tenn. Knoxville
Vilas Sridharan – AMD
Peter Strazdins – Australian National University
Abhinav Vishnu – Pacific Northwest National Lab.
Panruo Wu – University of California at Riverside


Please address FTXS workshop questions to Nathan DeBardeleben, Los Alamos National Laboratory (ndebard@lanl.gov)