East Longmeadow High School Athletic Hall of Fame

Last Published 5/12/2023 by Ned Obernesser

Please Like Us on our FaceBook page East Longmeadow High School Athletic Hall of Fame

In the summer of 2010, Dr. Charles Redington contacted Ms. Pat Bean to see if there was any interest around the town of East Longmeadow in forming an Athletic Hall of Fame for the East Longmeadow High School. Between the two of them, they contacted  a number of other East Longmeadow residents including Lloyd Duperre, Ned Obernesser, Steve Buzzelle, John Courtney, Mike Raschilla, Richard Freccero, Cathy Hood, Mike Harrigan and Bob Mazzariello, Bruce Mackechnie, Mike Prendergast, Gerry Sawyer  and Paul Ruscio and the East Longmeadow High School Athletic Hall of Fame (ELHSAHOF) was born. Committies were formed and a constitution was written, application for a Massachusetts Non-Profit was completed, a web site was created and an Executive Committee was voted in: President Chuck Redington, Vice-President Pat Bean, Treasurer Lloyd Duperre, Secretary Ned Obernesser and Member-at-Large Steve Buzzelle. A nomination committee was formed and nomination forms were created and placed in the East Longmeadow High School Office, the East Longmeadow Public Library, The East Longmeadow Recreation Department and at several East Longmeadow businesses. Dozens of nominations were received. Steve Buzzelle and later Ned Obernesser spent hundreds of hours at the Springfield Library looking at and printing Springfield Republican newspaper articles about East Longmeadow Athletes. A history from the birth of the high school to present day, by decade, was put together by Ned Obernesser, and the nomination committee went to work identifying the accomplishments of the nominated athletes. A point system for individual accomplishments was established and the candidates were rated. Seventeen athletes, four coaches and two contributors were selected for the Inaugural Ceremony. A banquet was planned and held on November 13, 2010 at the Elmcrest Country Club, nearly 250 people attended and the first induction class was recognized. 

Inaugaration Class Members included:

 David Bradstreet - 1977, Reanne Burke - 1974, Sean Butler - 1998, Jay Chipouras - 1976, Kendall Gonsalves - 1998, Mike Grigley - 1972, Trish Hafey - 1974, Mike Mineo - 1974, Steve Muise - 1980, Julie Niznik - 1999, Laurel Redington - 1987, Lindsay Sawyer - 1997, Danell Trinceri - 1984, Richard Weaver - 1973, Kathryn Wiezbicki - 1982, Robert Willard - 1969, Rand Willard - 1974, Coach Richard Bolles, Coach Robert Dobias, Coach Robert Mazzariello, Coach Ed Modzelewski, Contributor Ned Obernesser and Contributor Albert 'Baba' Tranghese.  

Hall of Fame Statistics:

We currently have recognized 139 athletes, 9 coaches,  6 contributors, 8 teams (consisting of 228 team members) and 2 athletes with special recognition, for a total of 384 inductees. Their bronze plaques are on display in the hallway adjacent to the large gymnasium at ELHS. 

Whats Happening:

Committee meetings take place monthly at the ELHS conference room beginning at 6:30 pm.

Like us on Facebook to see the exact dates and times.


The Class of 2022 included 10 athletes, and 2 teams consisting of 31 team members. The Ceremony was held at The Twin Hills CC in Longmeadow MA. 

 Nominations are open for the next induction and will close May 1, 2024,  forms are available at the High School Office, the Recreation Department and on our Facebook Page.

Hall of Fame Banquet Pictures

2018 HOF Banquet pictures

2017 Note there was no banquet

2016 HOF Inductees (No banquet pics avail)

2015 HOF Inductees (No banquet pics avail)  

2014 HOF Banquet Pictures courtesy Bill Sharon

2013 Banquet Pictures, courtesy Bill Sharon

 2012 Banquet Pictures, courtesy Bill Sharon

2011 Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony Picture

2010 Inaugural Banquet pictures   


Volunteer Today to help on the HOF Committee

Call Bob Mazzariello at (413) 733-8835


Why You Should Support Our Organization

The East Longmeadow High School Athletic Hall of Fame wants to honor those athletes, coaches, teams and contributors that have made East Longmeadow High School Athletics a proud tradition of East Longmeadow Public Schools. We are a not-for-profit organization in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.

DVD's Available

DVD's of the 2010, 2011,2012,2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016 Induction Ceremonies are available for $10 each. Note: There are limited copies available and will be sold on a first come first served basis.

Send your request with a check made out to 


c/o Ned Obernesser (Secretary)

51 Brynmawr Drive

East Longmeadow

MA 01028-3012

Current Executive Committee:

Contact us:

Nominations for 2024 induction are open,  next year's induction nominations will close on May 1st, 2024.

Please report any broken links to ELHSHallofFame@gmail.com

Last edited by Ned on 5/12/2023