Noonsite's Discussion of Non EU citizens visiting Schengen Zone Countries.

From Noonsite

Schengen Visas

What does it mean?

The Schengen Agreement came into force in 1995. This Agreement links all member countries with a consistent visa policy and therefore a Schengen visa issued by any country under the Schengen rules will be valid for travel in all the Schengen countries. This means that one visa alone will enable the bearer to travel in all the Schengen countries.

See end of article for a comprehensive list of the countries whose nationals do, and do not, require a Schengen visa.

Not all European Union countries are signatories to the Schengen Agreement.

Schengen States as of December 12th 2008 are Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark (including Greenland), Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Schengen Visa Information

The Schengen Visa is valid for 90 days. This means that a total of 90 days only in any 6 month period can be spent in the Schengen Agreement area, even if it is a multi-entry visa and time is spent in countries outside the Agreement. So if all 90 days have been used, then a new visa cannot be issued sooner than 6 months after first entering the Schengen area.

It is important to remember this when contemplating an extended cruise in northern European waters and/or the Mediterranean and a member of your crew requires such a visa.

Schengen visa applications must be made to the Embassy or Consulate of the country which is the first port of call. Applications should normally be made to the Embassy in your home country, so pre-planning is important as your passport will have to accompany your application.

Applying for the visa once you have left your home country is very difficult indeed. Not entering the Schengen Agreement Area through the country specified on your application as your point of entry can also cause difficulties.

Travel insurance, including medical cover and repatriation, is also required when you apply for a Schengen visa.

How long can I keep my boat in a Schengen Country?

The rules applicable to how long the boats themselves may be kept in a Schengen country depend on whether is is a member of the 

EU. See European Union page for more details. Norway and Iceland are not members of the EU. See Norway customs and Iceland 

customs for more information.

Nationals NOT Requiring a Schengen Visa

Members of the European Union, Australia, Canada, Iceland, Japan, Liechtenstein, Monaco, New Zealand, Norway, South Korea and the USA.

NOTE: Citizens of non-EU countries who do not require a visa to visit a Schengen country, are still usually (but not always) subject to a 90 day limit on the length of their stay in any 6 month period. This 6 period starts on the fist day of entry into a Schengen Area country. The "clock" can then immediately be restarted again at then end of this 6 month period if necessary.

Nationals NOT Requiring a Schengen Visa for Stays of Up to 90 Days: 

Andorra, Argentina, Brazil, Brunei, Chile, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Israel, Malaysia, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, San Marino, Singapore, Uruguay, Vatican City and Venezuela.

Nationals Who Can Remain Longer than 90 Days in the Schengen Area Without a Visa: 

Nationals of New Zealand are permitted to spend up to 90 days in EACH in several of the Schengen Area countries due to prior bilateral agreements.  These countries are:- Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark (including Greenland), Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland. See New Zealand Travel Advice

This may well apply to the nationals of other countries, such as Australia, Canada, Iceland, Japan, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, South Korea and the USA, but Noonsite has not yet been able to get confirmation of this arrangement.

Nationals Requiring a Schengen Visa

Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Botswana, Burma (see Myanmar), Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Cape Verde Islands, Central African Republic, Chad, China, Colombia, Comoros, Congo (Democratic Republic), Congo (Brazzaville), Côte d'Ivoire, Cuba, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia , Federal Republic of Yugoslavia (Serbia and Montenegro), Fiji Islands, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Grenada, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti , India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kyrgystan, Kiribati, Kuwait, Laos, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Macedonia, Madagascar, Malawi, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Micronesia, Moldavia, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar (formerly Burma), Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Niger, Nigeria, Northern Marianas (Islands), North Korea, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Philippines, Qatar, Russian Federation, Rwanda, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Salomon Islands, São Tomé and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Syria, Tajikistan, Taiwan, Tanzania, Thailand, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Vietnam, West Samoa, Yemen, Zambia and Zimbabwe. The visa allows stays of up to 90 days.

Last updated October 2010.