Upcoming Events

8/30/18-Discovery freshman parent meeting at 5:30 pm in the SV Auditorium

8/30/18-Magnet senior parent/student college application meeting at 6:15 pm in the SV auditorium

9/8-9/10/18-Discovery Camp Weaver field trip (freshmen)

11/10/18-SCJAS Fall Workshop at Columbia College (all magnet students are encouraged to attend!)

January/February 2019 (date TBD)-JSHS

3/2/19-Discovery Research Symposium at Spring Valley (8:00-11:30 am)

3/13/19-Discover and Explorations Annual Poster Session (Parents, community members, all students, faculty and staff are welcome to attend)

3/30/19-SCJAS Annual competition at Francis Marion University


Spring Valley High School has been named a 2018 National Magnet School of Excellence by Magnet Schools of America, the national association for magnet and theme-based schools.


Discovery students excelled at the Junior Science and Humanities Symposium (JSHS) held at USC on Jnauary 20th, 2017. Out of almost 90 presentations, our Discovery students earned three of the top five overall places: Jenning Chen (2nd overall), Wenxin Fan (4th overall), and Ishita Kapoor (5th overall). These students will travel to the National JSHS in San Diego, CA in April. Sarah Mott (3rd in her session) and Sarayu Das were chosen as semi-finalists based on their written research papers. In other sessions, Vinita Cheepurupalli earned first place, while Sreya Varanasi and Lisa Qu earned second place in their respective sessions.

2015-16 eCybermission winning teams

Winning teams from the 2015-16 eCybermission Competition

Left Photo: (EnviroCom–Elizabeth Dillon, Sydney Hannibal, and Gillian Patton)

Right Photo : (Simply Southern Scientists–Elizabeth “Evie” Bickel, Erin Blalock, and Sreya Varanasi) These students completed their team project in their freshman Science Seminar class (see "Awards" tab for more information).

2016 SCJAS annual meeting

(Above) Discovery students at 2016 SCJAS Annual Meeting/Competition

Dr. Michelle Wyatt, Sarayu Das, Luke Marazzo, Mr. Dale Soblo

2016 USC Region II Science and Engineering Fair Grand Award Winners

From left to right: Dr. Michelle Wyatt, Sarayu Das, Luke Marazzo, Mr. Dale Soblo