Millburn Academy Science Faculty

The Science faculty at Millburn Academy includes the Biology, Chemistry and Physics departments.

In first and second year integrated Science is based on the third level of the Broad General Education (BGE). In third year learners can choose any recommended combination of Biology, Chemistry and Physics to cover fourth level of BGE.

In fourth year and above in the Senior Phase learners choose National 4, National 5, Higher or Advanced Higher Biology, Chemistry and Physics often achieving relatively good results. Expected prgress in courses is shown in our Year plans

We currently have 11 teachers and two school technicians who are based in Science. All classes are taught in laboratories with resources stored in the technician base.

If you wish to make contact directly to the Science faculty please email me at

Martyn Crawshaw, Faculty head of Sciences

StaffBiology - Heather Stirling. Claire Powell, Judi Oates, Hannah Alexander, Tracy FergusonChemistry - Andy Hay, Christine Findlay, Dr Emma BorthwickPhysics - Martyn Crawshaw, Ian Miller, Tim ProbertTechnicians Heather Maclaren, Dr Graham Mochrie

Scottish Water Pipeline challenge. Science staff helped supervise this activity from Scottish Water. More details on the Scottish Water website

A 5 minute 'tour' of the Millburn Academy Science Department by directed and filmed by senior pupils in March 2019.

Poems to summarise each science subject by sixth year leaver CJ Lockhart


Studying titration,Taking down reaction times,With the Bunsen burners blazing,And the temperature on high.
Silly notes with Mr Hay,To make you pay attention.More fascinating every day,And growing with each lesson.
It’s a wonder not a single classHas ended in explosion,Mixing molecules and breaking glass,In the ancient art of ‘Potions’.

Cells with Mrs MacGillivrayAnd learning how they sunderThrough mitosis and separate,In a rapid, countless number.
Stocks, growth and chains of food,Hunter and prey alike.All this, biology includes:The unfaltering study of life.
Each organism has a place,Whether it snaps, bites or stings,And here we learn about each caseWhilst Miss Sterling sweetly sings.
Endless, boundless galaxies,Impressive calculations.Astonishing analyses,And onerous equations.
Explaining unexplainable,As physicists will do.Whether quite unsure or proven real,It’s all tickety-boo!
Hawking, Einstein, Galilei,All share something in common,Unmistakable curiosity,And allowing it to blossom.
In essence, that’s what physics is, The need for humans to advance,Learning how this world ends and begins,By design or total chance.

Short video of the Science Faculty Trip to the London Science Museums in September 2017