About us

Goodwood Marshals Club was established from an inaugural meeting at the Goodwood Flying Club on October 2nd 1998. The Duke of Richmond & Gordon kindly consented to be our President with Derek Bell, Rob Wilson and Edward Croucher as Vice Presidents. The club has been registered with Motorsport UK since April 1999.

Although based at the historic Goodwood Motor Circuit, we operate independently from the Goodwood group of companies. The club is responsible for marshalling at Motorsport UK licensed Sprints, Autosolos and Greenpower race events that take place at the circuit each year. We also assist with the Sunday morning Breakfast Club get-togethers. Collectively, Goodwood Marshals Club members have many years of experience in all motorsport disciplines and at venues across the UK and overseas.

Goodwood Marshals Club operates a modern Rescue Unit which provides rescue cover at motorsport events nationwide.

A Motorsport UK accredited marshals training day is held at Goodwood each winter so that members can refresh their knowledge in fire-fighting, flagging, rescue, first aid, radio communication, leadership and much more. The club has Motorsport UK accredited assessors to help marshals along the Speed discipline upgrade pathway.

The club raises funds for charity with a pair of track days at Goodwood in the autumn.

The day-to-day running of the club is carried out by a committee, which is elected at an Annual General Meeting held in the spring. The current committee members are listed below, together with their roles.

Officers and Committee Members 2024-2025

Ex-officio Members of the Main Committee

President - The Duke of Richmond & Gordon

Vice President - Derek Bell MBE

Directors - Katie Pybus, Richard Andrews

Financial Director - Katie Pybus

Official Members of the Main Committee

Chair - Sam Waters

Vice Chair - Steve Surridge

Honorary Secretary - Richard Andrews

Honorary Treasurer - Katie Pybus

Chief Marshal - Russell Pain

Track Day Secretary - Katja Norman-Buller

Regalia Secretary - Katie Pybus

Training Secretary - Sam Waters

Membership Secretary - Paul Vincent

Rescue Unit Crew Chief - Kevin Lawrence

Media Officer - Andy Player

Social Events Secretary - Dave Holder

Other Committee Members - Stephen Denyer, Warren Poll