About Sustainability Day

The Associated Colleges Sustainability Day is an annual event created by a group of faculty and staff from all four universities and supported by the Associated Colleges of the St. Lawrence Valley, whose governing board consists of the four university presidents. The event is intended to be an inspiring opportunity for constituents from all four campuses to come together to collectively consider and collaborate on this issue which is central to the values of all four of our institutions.


1. To inspire and empower multiple change agents to foster a culture of sustainability and institutionalize practices for meeting our respective sustainability targets

2. To generate and/or disseminate applied and practical steps for integrating sustainability on the college campuses

3. To generate and/or disseminate sustainability strategies that can be implemented at home and in the community and

4. To develop and/or enhance campus-community partnerships for sustainability research and experiential education opportunities.

Planning Committee

Heather Sullivan-Catlin, SUNY Potsdam, Convener

Matt Burnett, SUNY Canton

Ben Dixon, Associated Colleges of the St. Lawrence Valley

Alex French, Clarkson University

Lauren Jackson-Beck, SUNY Potsdam

Alex LaFountain, SUNY Potsdam

Rajiv Narula, SUNY Canton

John Proetta, SUNY Potsdam

Tamera Rizk, Clarkson University

Cathy Shrady, St. Lawrence University

Karen Smith, St. Lawrence University

Martin Walker, SUNY Potsdam

For more information contact Heather Sullivan-Catlin: