Board of Trustees

UHF’s Board of Trustees is composed of Olie Lucas, President, Angel Inocentes-Gonzalez, Treasurer, Angelica Yap-Azurin, Corporate Secretary, and Carissa Singson, Pandy Singian, Rose Yenko, Inday Avanceña-Arcena and Santi Dumlao as regular members.

UHF was formally incorporated in December 1999. It was the natural outcome of the project for street children of started by UHF’s founding trustees three years earlier in September 1996 which organized play and educational activities for the street children of EDSA Crossing regularly each Saturday.

On January 27, 2003, UHF was registered and licensed by the Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD) as a social welfare agency implementing community-based services for children and youth. It is also a registered volunteer organization with the Philippine National Volunteer Service Coordinating Agency (PNVSCA).


UHF is a member of the National Council for Social Development (NCSD), the Civil Society Network for Education Reforms (E-Net Philippines), the Civil Society Coalition on the Convention on the Rights of the Child (CRC Coalition), the Child Rights Network (CRN), the Social Protection Cluster of the Alternative Budget Initiative of Social Watch Philippines, the Technical Working Group on Measurement and Evaluation of the National Council Against Child Labor, and the National Steering Committe of the Philippines Open Government Partnership (PH-OGP).

Our Staff

The people who do the real hard work in UHF are our Center Heads who manage our community learning centers:

Mandaluyong City
Bahay ni San Francisco (Bgy. Highway Hills) - Mary Jane Acedera
Bahay ni San Jose (Welfareville, Bgy. Addition Hills) - Mary Aieen Padoga

Balay nang Sta. Tereza (Bgy. Sta. Tereza 1st, Lubao) - Catherine de Guia
Balay nang San Isidro (Bgy. San Isidro, Bacolor) - Catherine de Guia
Balang nang Pastol - (Bgy. Pandacaqui, Mexico) - Rosemarie Carreon

The day-to-day management of UHF is in the capable hands of:

Mary Aieen Padoga, Operations Manager
Mary Jane Acedera, Administrative Officer
Catherine de Guia, Area Head-Pampanga