The National Learning Communities Association is pleased to announce the Outstanding Learning Community Advocate Award to recognize and reward individuals for their exemplary contributions to learning communities on their campuses and beyond.

Award Details

Nominations consist of a letter of no more than two pages outlining the individual’s contributions as an advocate for learning communities.
Self-nominations and nominations by others are welcome. 

Outstanding Learning Community Advocate award recipients receive:

The selection committee includes a national panel of NLCA members representing a variety of two- and four-year public and private institutions. Nominations are evaluated based on the breadth and depth of contributions, as well as the significance of the individual’s impact on their own campus and the field of learning communities. Documentation of this impact can be included in the nomination letter.

2023 Recipients

Recipients were recognized at NLCC 2023 in Corpus Christi in November 2023

David Finley

Chandler-Gilbert Community College

Richie Gebauer

Bryn Mawr College

Lauren Morgan

College of DuPage​ 

2022 Recipients

Recipients were recognized at NLCC 2022 in Phoenix in November 2022. 

Chris Reider

Chandler-Gilbert Community College 

Chris Schnick

Chandler-Gilbert Community College

2021 Recipients

Our inaugural recipients were recognized at the National Learning Communities Conference (NLCC) in October 2021. 

Rachel Singer

Washington Center 

Amy Lorenz

​University of North Florida 

James Allen

College of DuPage​ 

Jes Takla

Pacific Lutheran University