13th MoFiR Workshop on Banking

27-28 June, 2024

European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD) and Queen Mary University London

The Money and Finance Research Group (MoFiR) is pleased to announce that the next workshop will be held in London on 27-28 June 2024. The organising committee of this small informal workshop invites submissions of high-quality theoretical and empirical research on financial intermediation. Scholars in the fields of banking and finance will meet to discuss current issues in banking, financial stability, bank regulation, financial innovation, financial inclusion, and consumer credit. The workshop provides an opportunity for discussions about policy-relevant research in an informal and interactive environment. An invitation-only conference dinner will be held on June 27.

The keynote speaker will be Tarun Ramadorai (Imperial College London and CEPR).

PHD students: The conference will include a Poster Session for Ph.D. students working on financial intermediation.

Accommodation costs (two nights) for presenters and invited discussants will be reimbursed. There is no conference fee, and all meals are included. We appreciate if presenters can cover their own travel costs, but we can offer funding for those without budget, following the CEPR travel guidelines.

SUBMISSION: To submit a paper (full papers only), please visit the webpage https://hub.cepr.org/event/4126.

The deadline for submission is 6pm (GMT), 15 January 2024. If you have any difficulties registering for this meeting, please email meets@cepr.org for assistance (with subject header “13th MoFiR Workshop on Banking”). 

DUAL SUBMISSION OPTION: In the submission, authors should indicate if they wish their paper to be considered (at no extra fee) for publication by Review of Corporate Finance Studies under the Dual Submission Program. This is a “no-fault” submission option: if the RCFS reviews the paper and rejects it, the authors may submit it to any SFS journal at a later date as if it was never submitted. See http://sfs.org/dualsubmissionpolicy/ for details.

Papers will be selected by the program committee and corresponding authors will be notified of acceptance by 30 March 2024. Preference will be given to authors who can attend the whole workshop.

Programme Committee:

Isha Agarwal (University of British Columbia Sauder)
Pietro Alessandrini (Università Politecnica delle Marche and MoFiR)
Thorsten Beck (European University Institute and CEPR)
Diana Bonfim (Banco de Portugal, ECB, and Católica Lisbon School of Business and Economics)

Martin Brown (Study Center Gerzensee and University of St. Gallen)
Claire Célérier (University of Toronto and CEPR)
Geraldo Cerqueiro (Católica Lisbon School of Business and Economics)

Cláudia Custódio (Imperial College Business School and CEPR)

Hans Degryse (KU Leuven and CEPR)
Andrew Ellul (Indiana University, ECGI and CEPR)
Michele Fratianni (Università Politecnica delle Marche and MoFiR)
Leonardo Gambacorta (Bank for International Settlements and CEPR)
Mariassunta Giannetti (Stockholm School of Economics and CEPR)
Arpit Gupta (NYU Stern)
Nandini Gupta (Indiana University)
Kinda Hachem (University of Virginia)
Sasha Indarte (The Wharton School)
Rustom M. Irani (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and CEPR)

Agnese Leonello (European Central Bank)
Nicola Limodio (Bocconi University and CEPR)

José María Liberti (DePaul University, Northwestern University and MoFiR)
David Martinez Miera (Universidad Carlos III and CEPR)
Raoul Minetti (Michigan State University)
Camelia Minoiu (Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta)
Karsten Mueller (NUS Business School)
Steven Ongena (University of Zurich, SFI and CEPR)
Marco Pagano (University of Naples Federico II, CSEF, EIEF and CEPR)
Sergio Schmukler (World Bank and MoFiR)
Enrico Sette (Bank of Italy)
André F. Silva (Federal Reserve Board)
Janis Skrastins (Washington University in St. Louis)Jason Sturgess (Queen Mary University of London)
Hirofumi Uchida (Kobe University and MoFiR)
Gregory Udell (Indiana University and MoFiR)
Iichiro Uesugi (Hitotsubashi University and MoFiR)
Neeltje Van Horen (Bank of England, University of Amsterdam and CEPR) 

Organizing committee

Ralph De Haas (EBRD, KU Leuven and CEPR)

Thomas Mosk (Queen Mary University London)

Andrea F. Presbitero (International Monetary Fund, MoFiR and CEPR)

Alberto Zazzaro (University of Naples Federico II, CSEF and MoFiR)