About Us

Our mission is to eliminate, prevent, and control soil erosion and water pollution; to maintain and improve the quality of our environment by conservation planning and implementing best management practices; and to encourage all land users to become cooperators in developing Kentucky Agricultural Water Quality Plans.


On August 5th, 1946 the Fayette County Soil and Water Conservation District was named a subdivision of Kentucky State Government with the purpose of promoting conservation and responsible management of natural resources. Our tasks include assisting with cost and educating about conservation practices. We partner with local, state, and federal government to sponsor and participate in activities that further our goal of an environmentally sustainable Fayette County.

Board of Supervisors & Office Staff

John James


Allen Carter

Vice Chairman

Angie Quigley


Christopher Rowe


Matt Miniard

Board Supervisor

Lillie Miller-Johnson

Board Supervisor

Heather Silvanik

Operations Manager