What is a conservation district?

A conservation district is a small entity focused on environmental concerns in a specific area. There are 121 conservation districts in Kentucky, and each one has a unique approach to addressing natural resource concerns related to needs within our communities. We are also responsible for coordinating cost assistance from all available sources in an effort to develop locally-driven solutions to erosion and water quality issues.

How is a conservation district funded?

We are funded by .0006% of Fayette County's property taxes, as well as direct aid and environmental grants through state government.

What is the difference between a conservation district and the Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS)?

Conservation districts and NRCS are two separate entities that partner to provide services for the agricultural community. We also share an office here in Fayette County and coordinate information for constituents. Read about NRCS here.

What if I need to report a water quality issue?

We can provide technical guidance for water quality concerns, but the conservation district and NRCS are not regulatory authorities. Please contact the Division of Water.

What is a Conservation District Supervisor and what do they do ?

Each local conservation district is governed by a seven-member board of supervisors elected by the registered voters within that district. Each member is elected to serve a four-year term. Once selected, Supervisors attend monthly meetings to approve official district business. Across 121 conservation districts in Kentucky, supervisors may have a variety of unique roles. Ultimately, supervisors are responsible for upholding the mission of the conservation districts which is to conserve soil, water, land, and natural resources within their district.

How do I become a Conservation District Supervisor?

Please contact the Fayette County Clerk.