Five Elements

Ayurveda is based on “Panchamahabhuta” principle, which postulates our universe is built by five basic elements -

  • Akaasha (Space);
  • Agni (Fire);
  • Jala (Water);
  • Prithvi (Earth)
  • Vayu (Air).

Two elements – mind and soul differentiates a living being from non-living objects.

What is Ayurveda?

Ayurveda is made of two words - ayus (life) and veda (knowledge or science), deriving from Sanskrit. So ayurveda means “Science of life” or “Knowledge of life”.

Origins of Ayurveda can be traced back to over 5,000 years and its fundamentals can be found in ancient Hindu scriptures – Vedas.

Lord Dhanvantri is considered as founder of this ancient holistic medical system.

The body, mind, senses and the soul form “ayu”, says the ancient Ayurvedic scholar Charaka.

The Three Energies

The elements are represented in humans by three "doshas" (energies) - Vaata, Pittha and Kafa.

According to Ayurveda’s three dosha theory (tridosa upadesha), a good balance of vaata, pittha and kafa forms a good health.