CAAD Futures Foundation

The Foundation

CAAD Futures was set up under Dutch law in 1985 with three founding members; Tom Maver, Rik Schijf, and Harry Wagter with the purpose of promoting, through international conferences and publications, the advancement of Computer Aided Architectural Design in the service of those concerned with the quality of the built environment with initial capital provided by the Housing Ministry of the Netherlands Government.

Many decades later, no longer based on the Netherlands, the Foundation continues to play a major global role in advancing the field and documenting progress in research with its biennial conference. We work in collaboration with the several regionally focussed groups that have been established over these years t support and cultivate a richly diverse research community.

The mission of the CAAD Futures foundation continues to be:

  • to promote research interactions and collaborations between researchers, including PhD students and their supervisors, and to provide a platform for communication among researchers in the of CAAD

  • to play an active role in the dissemination of such progress to the scientific architectural community and the architectural practice

Next Conference

The CAAD Futures 2021 conference is hosted by the University of Southern California and is taking place between July 16-18 2021, virtually. For more information, visit the CAAD Futures 2021 Conference website.

The CAAD Futures 2023 conference will take place in Europe and is currently open to proposals. If you are in Europe and interested in hosting the conference in 2023 at your institution, please email any one of the board members. Planning ahead, the CAAD Futures 2025 conference will take place in Asia. If you are in Asia and are interested in hosting the conference in 2025 at your institution, please email any board member.

Secretariat CAAD Futures Foundation


Board members

The current board members of the CAAD Futures Foundation are:

  • Thomas Kvan, Chair. Dean of the School of Design, SUSTech, Shenzhen, China

  • Gabriela Celani, Vice-Chair. Professor of Architecture and Urban Design at the University of Campinas, Brazil

  • Mine Özkar, Vice-Chair. Professor of Architecture at Istanbul Technical University, Turkey