Town of Chittenden
PO Box 89
260 Chittenden Rd.
CHITTENDEN PLANNING COMMISSION
Regular Monthly Meeting
Monday, April 3, 2023 at 6:00 p.m.
Chittenden Town Office
Join Zoom Meeting
Meeting ID: 860 1357 3128
Planning Commissioners: Abigail Bradish, Ben Lucas, Gary Raymond, Jonathan Yacko, Lisa Purcell, Michael Kinsler, Sam Hall
Recording Secretary: Karen Webster
6:00 Call meeting to order
Approve minutes of March 2023 meeting
Select board updates
6:15 Old Business
Municipal Planning Grant – status report
Working Committees’ updates:
· Natural Resources
· Community Infrastructure
Town Plan review – from Introduction thru Transportation (~pgs 5-36)
Town Plan process – outline steps, dates, roles and responsibilities
7:15 Commission members final thoughts
Clair Purcell's contact info for people to let her know they would like to get email updates. And the facebook group is set to automatic acceptance to join for anyone living in Chittenden - all are welcome, even if they don't support the Grange, we know and feel the love and support for a Preschool and that's what it's all about at the end of the day.
firstname.lastname@example.org and 917 972 6972
Dog tags and dump stickers are due April 1st.
“Per Vermont Law, all dogs, ages 6 months or older, MUST be licensed annually by April 1st with the town that they reside.”
The Vermont Homestead Declaration
By Vermont law, property owners whose homes meet the definition of a Vermont “homestead”
must file a Homestead Declaration annually by the April due date. If eligible, you must file so that you are correctly assessed the homestead tax rate on your property. This fact sheet will provide the information you need to know as a property owner about filing your Homestead Declaration.
The Homestead Declaration for 2023 is due April 18 and no later than
October 16. Your municipality may assess a penalty after the April due date.
What is the Vermont Homestead Declaration?
In Vermont, all property is subject to education property tax to pay for the state’s schools. For this purpose, property is categorized as either homestead or nonhomestead. A homestead is the principal dwelling and parcel of land surrounding the dwelling, owned and occupied by the resident as the person’s domicile.*
Properties are considered “nonhomestead,” unless declared as a “homestead.” The education
property tax rate levied on nonhomestead property differs from the rate levied on homestead
property. It is your legal responsibility as the property owner to claim the property as a homestead if you meet, or expect to meet, the following requirements:
• You are a Vermont resident.
• You own and occupy a homestead as your domicile as of April 1, 2023.
Note: If you meet these requirements, except that your homestead is leased to a tenant on April
1, 2023, you may still claim it as a homestead if it is not leased for more than 182 days in the 2023 calendar year.
* Domicile is a legal concept that has implications for Vermont income tax, the statewide education tax, and property tax adjustments. For the definition of “domicile”, see Vermont Reg. 1.5811(11)(A)(i) (tax.vermont.gov/regulations).
For situations not covered by this fact sheet, please call (802) 828-2865 or 1-866-828-2865 (toll-free in Vermont), or email by email@example.com. To receive this information in an alternative format or for other accessibility questions, please contact (802) 828-2505.
File your Homestead Declaration online at
For additional forms, fact sheets, and how to guides (tax.vermont.gov)
please visit our website.