Shotokan Kata

Kata is fundamental part of Karate Practice.

A kata consists of a series kicks, punches, sweeps, strikes, blocks, and throws. Body movement throughout the kata includes stepping, twisting, turning, dropping to the ground, and jumping.

In Shotokan Karate, kata is a means for the individual to practice full techniques paying particular attention to form and timing (rhythm).

Most of the katas taught today inTVSK have two kiai's. The kiai or a "spirit cry" occurs only at certain points in each kata and is the opportunity for the student to demonstrate their commitment to the kata.

It is important for every student to remember that as they rise up through the various grades, the continued regular practice of all of the kata's they've been taught is vital to their future progress.

TVSK practice a total 27 Kata's. These are listed below along with their literal meanings. Depending on Karate style and discipline there are other kata's that maybe practiced. Typically these are the basic Taikyoko kata's. There are anything from 3 to 5 of these. In our style (Along with a number of others) all of these are condensed into the basic 1st Kihon Kata.

Jin(Ji'in) as a kata (part of the temple series of kata's) also may not be practiced in other organisations.