Our group is close-knit and highly active. Student researchers have the opportunity to participate in a wide variety of computational astrophysics research projects on cutting-edge topics, ranging from Type Ia supernovae to star formation. 

Group alumni have been highly successful. In 2014, group member Jillian Bolinger was one of only sixty undergraduate students selected from a pool of over six hundred applicants to participate in the Council of Undergraduate Research's "Posters on the Hill Event." In 2012, group member Peter Jumper was recognized by the APS as a finalist for the highly-prestigious Apker Prize for research conducted in the group on the brown dwarf desert. Masters and bachelors students have been admitted to and received fellowship offers from physics and astronomy Ph.D. programs at Columbia University, Johns Hopkins University, University of Toronto, University of Maryland College Park, University of Virginia, Ohio State University, University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign, University of Colorado Boulder, University of Texas at Austin, University of California Santa Barbara, SUNY Stony Brook, Arizona State University, Georgia Tech, and Clemson University, among others, or have pursued successful careers in private industry.

Current Group Members

M.S. Graduate Students
Pritom Mozumdar (Fall '16 - )
Gabriel Casabona (Fall '17 - )

B.S. Undergraduate Students
Michelle Barnes (Fall '17 - )
Matthew Silva (Fall '17 - )

Recent Collaborators
Gabriela Aznar-Siguán (Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya)
Ray Bair (Argonne National Laboratory)
Rosanne Di Stefano (Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics)
Anshu Dubey (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory)
Enrique García-Berro (Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya)
Or Graur (Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics)
Carlo Graziani (University of Chicago)
James Guillochon (Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics)
Richard Klein (LLNL / University of California at Berkeley)
Kaitlin Kratter (University of Arizona)
Don Lamb (University of Chicago)
Dongwook Lee (University of California, Santa Cruz)

Fisher Group, fall of 2017.

Fisher Group in fall of 2017. From left-to-right: Gabriel Casabona, Michelle Barnes, Robert Fisher, Matthew Silva, Pritom Mozumdar.
Pablo Lorén-Aguilar (University of Exeter)
Chris McKee (University of California at Berkeley)
Stella Offner (University of Texas Austin)
Hagai Perets (Weizmann Institute of Science)
James Steiner (Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics)
Frank Timmes (Arizona State University)
Dean Townsley (University of Alabama)
Petros Tzeferacos (University of Chicago)
Daan van Rossum (University of Chicago)
Hiroya Yamaguchi (University of Maryland / NASA GSFC)

Group Alumni

Ph.D. Graduate Students

Rahul Kashyap (UMass Dartmouth Distinguished Doctoral Fellow '17   Max Planck Institute for Gravitational Physics / International Center for Theoretical Sciences Prize Postdoc)

M.S. Graduate Students

Tazkera Haque (M.S. Physics '17 →  Judith Young Fellow, Astronomy Ph.D. Program, UMass Amherst)
Jillian Bolinger (M.S. Physics '16)
Pranav Dave (M.S. Physics '16 → Physics Ph.D. Program, Georgia Institute of Technology) 
Kathryn St. Laurent (M.S. Physics '15 Space Telescope Science Institute)
Brian Pinault (M.S. Physics '15)
Suoqing Ji (M.S. Physics '13  Paxton Fellow, Physics Ph.D. Program, UCSB → Burke Prize Fellowship, Caltech)
Avinash Kumar (M.S. Physics '11  Physics Ph.D. Program, University of Maryland - College Park)
David Falta (M.S. Physics '11  Harvard Extension School)
Pradip Basnet (M.S. ’10  Physics Ph.D. Program, University of Georgia Athens  Postdoc, Georgia Tech)
Sashi Poudel (M.S. ’10  Physics Ph.D. Program, Worcester Polytechnic Institute)
Rakesh Ginjupalli (M.S. ’10  Engineer at IBM Global Services)

Undergraduate Students
Eliza Miley (B.S. Physics '17 UMass Dartmouth M.S. Physics Student)
Chris Byrohl (DAAD RISE Student, Summer '15, Georg-August-Universität  Ph.D. Student, Max 

Fisher Group, summer of 2013.

The Fisher group in summer of 2013. From left-to-right: Robert Fisher, Suoqing Ji, Peter Jumper, Jillian Bolinger, Matthias Aengenheyster, Rahul Kashyup, Casey Newell, Kevin Jumper, and Jean Pierre.
Planck Institute for Astrophysics, Garching)
Matthew Wise (OUR Research Student, B.S. Physics '17   MorphoTrust USA)
Martin Lellep (DAAD RISE Student, Summer '14    M.S. Physics Student, Phillips-Universität Marburg)
Tiffany Ferreira (B.S. Physics '14  Distinguished Doctoral Fellow, EAS Ph.D. Program, UMass Dartmouth)
Jillian Bolinger (B.S. Physics '14  M.S. Physics '16, UMass Dartmouth)
Jean Pierre (LSAMP Scholar, Spring '13 - Spring '14 Dell EMC)
Casey Newell (NASA Space Grant Scholar, Summer '13)
Matthias Aengenheyster (DAAD RISE Intern Summer '13, Jacobs University, Germany Masters Student, Utretcht University)
Kevin Jumper (B.S. Physics '13  Astronomy Ph.D. Program, University of Texas at Austin)
Peter Jumper (B.S. Physics '13, APS Apker Prize Finalist  Connaught International Fellow, Astronomy & Astrophysics Ph.D. Program, University of Toronto)
Pascal Cremer (DAAD RISE Student '12, Universität Bonn  CHESS Fellow, University of Cambridge Masters Program in Applied Mathematics  Ph.D. Student Universität Bonn)
Jan Behrends (DAAD RISE Student '11, Freie Universität Berlin  Ph.D. Student, Max Planck Institute for the Physics of Complex Systems)
Shivangi Prasad (Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur Student '11  Physics Ph.D. Program, University of Illinois at Urbana/Champaign)
Joseph Collins (B.S. Physics Transfer  Colorado State University - Fort Collins  Academic Computing, Colorado State University)
Justin McKennon (NASA Space Grant Scholar, B.S. EECE '12  Principal Engineer at RMS Engineering Services)
Deivid Ribeiro (B.S. Physics Transfer  Physics B.S. '13, Brown University → Columbia University Dean's Fellow, Astronomy Ph.D. Program)

High School Students
Noah Chartier (Summer '15 Physics B.S. Program, University of Rochester)