Conference 2017

An international conference on Future Directions in Representation Theory will be held at the University of Sydney in the week of December 4-8, 2017  

Speakers (*=tentative)

The conference will be held in Lecture Theatre 1170 in the new Abercrombie Building, on the corner of Abercrombie St and Codrington St, in the Darlington part of the main Camperdown/Darlington campus of The University of Sydney. See the campus map and transport information.

Timetable and Other Events

Talks will start on the morning of Monday December 4 and finish on the afternoon of Friday December 8, with a free afternoon on Wednesday December 6 and a conference dinner in the evening of Thursday December 7. A full timetable will be posted later.

This is the week preceding the annual conference of the Australian Mathematical Society, which will be at Macquarie University in Sydney, December 12-15, 2017. The AustMS conference has no web-site yet, but see this calendar entry for the list of plenary speakers; the conference will include a special session on representation theory, featuring 25-minute contributed talks. 

Here are some other events in Australia around the same time that may be of interest:


Intending participants in the conference are required to register and pay the appropriate level of registration fee by Visa or MasterCard on the online payment form

The registration fee is a contribution to the cost of the morning and afternoon teas which will be provided throughout the conference, as well as the conference dinner (if selected). Note that the registration fee does not cover accommodation.

The full registration fee is A$187 (including Goods and Services Tax), or A$110 without the conference dinner. There is a 20% discount for ordinary members of the Australian Mathematical Society. Students or other reduced-rate members of the Australian Mathematical Society are entitled to a 50% discount, and this reduced rate is also offered to non-Australian students, early-career researchers without grant support, and retired researchers.

The deadline for registration is Friday November 24, 2017, but please register as soon as possible to support our funding applications. If your plans change after registering, you can obtain a refund of the fee by emailing the chair of the organizing committee (see below) with a copy of your electronic payment receipt.


On campus, St Andrew's College on the corner of Missenden Rd and Carillon Ave has rooms available for the week of the conference. The rate is A$110 per night for a room with bathroom, or A$70 per night for a single room using shared bathroom facilities, with breakfast included and Wifi available for an extra A$15. Registered conference participants should book and pay for their own accommodation (within the dates of December 3-9) using this online form. Please refer booking queries to the college using the contact information given at this link.

Some hotels within an easy walk of campus (expect to pay at least A$200 per night for a room): 


Some travel support for non-speaking participants may become available later, depending on the result of funding applications. Please email the chair of the organizing committee (see below) if your participation would depend on such support. Note that this support may well be restricted to participants from certain countries or to early-career researchers; in the case of candidates of equal merit, those who registered earlier may be given priority.

International visitors coming to Australia for a conference need to obtain an Electronic Travel Authority prior to travel. 

Organizing committee

This conference is currently supported by funding from the Australian Research Council and the School of Mathematics and Statistics of the University of Sydney; we are also grateful to the University of Sydney for waiving the venue fee. We are in the process of seeking further sponsorship.