Compression and Decreasing your File Size
There are various ways to reduce the size of an image file
Flatten your Images in Photoshop
Make a copy of your image files that have mutiple layers
Open Photoshop and open one of your copied files
Select Layer>Flatten Image
This combines all your layers into one single background layer decreasing your file size.
Then File>Export>Export As
Change the format to JPG
Adjust the quality slider - The file size of the file will be displayed on the left hand side of the export box
Optional - If you need to further reduce the file size reduce the resolution of your file
Click the export button and choose a folder to save the exported file into.
Flatten your Images in Photoshop using the Image Processor Feature
If you have several files that you would like to flatten, then you can use the Image Processor feature within Photoshop to automate this process.
Open Photoshop. Do not open the files you want to flatten.
Go to File > Scripts > Image Processor.
Under Step 1 in the Image Processor window, select the folder that contains your multi-layered images.
Under Step 2, choose a location to save your new flattened files (you can save them in the same location or a new folder).
Under Step 3 (File Type):
Check Save as JPEG
Set the Quality slider
Click Run in the top right corner. Photoshop will open, flatten, and save every image in that folder automatically.
Resize your Images in Photoshop and export as a PDF File
Resize your images in Photoshop before you bring them into Indesign or Illustrator
Image>Image Size
Reduce the Image size
Save As Photoshop PDF
Adobe PDF Preset:High Quality Print
Compression
Set Your Downsampling to 150ppi (Pixels Per Inch) For Images above 225 PPI
Save PDF
Tools>Optimize PDF>Advanced Optimization>
Downsample to 150ppi
Image Quality to High
Export
File>Export>Adobe PDF
Adobe PDF Preset:High Quality Print
Compression
Set Your Downsampling to 150ppi (Pixels Per Inch) For Images above 225 PPI
Compression Automatic JPEG
Image Quality: Maximum (If your file size is still too much decrease this to High)
Export
If after all this your file is still too large change your Downsampling to 100ppi
This is a useful video guide on how to do this in InDesign
If you file save size is too small or you lose too much quality just bump things back up
slightly.