Academics and Assessments

Academic Standards

In Wisconsin, all state standards serve as a model. Locally elected school boards adopt academic standards in each subject area to best serve their local community. The Osceola School District adopts the Wisconsin State Standards annually.

Materials used to support the students learning of the standards is provided by the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction Standards

Equitable Multi-Level Systems of Supports - eMLSS

For Wisconsin schools and districts, implementing an equitable multi-level system of supports means providing equitable services, practices, and resources to every learner based upon responsiveness to effective instruction and intervention. In this system, high quality instruction, strategic use of data, and collaboration interact within a continuum of supports to facilitate learner success.

Osceola eMLSS


Wisconsin Student Assessment System

The Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS) is a comprehensive statewide program designed to provide information about what students know in core academic areas and whether they can apply what they know. The WSAS includes:

  • The Wisconsin Forward Exam at grades 3-8 in English Language Arts (ELA) and Mathematics, at grades 4 and 8 in Science, and 4, 8, and 10 in Social Studies

  • Dynamic Learning Maps (DLM) at grades 3-11 in ELA and Mathematics, at grades 4 and 8 - 11 in Science, and at grades 4, 8, and 10 in Social Studies,

  • ACT Aspire at grades 9 & 10,

  • The ACT with Writing at grade 11 for Reading, English, Mathematics, Science, and Writing.

Osceola Assessment Calendar 2020-21 (2).pdf

The Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) requires all states to test all students in English language arts (ELA) and mathematics in grades 3-8 and once in high school. ESSA also requires students be assessed in Science once each grade span (3-6, 7-9, and 10-12 grades). Student performance on these assessments is reported in proficiency categories and used for accountability determination at the school, district and state levels. Wisconsin State statute also requires students to take grade 9 and 10 assessments as well as the social studies test. These tests together create the Wisconsin Student Assessment System.

Osceola School District also has local assessments in order to tianagelate our data and offer support throughout the year for student. To the right is our assessment calendar for the 2019-20 school year.